Quick Tip: What's In My Wallet? - Simple Understanding of STEEM, STEEM POWER , and STEEM DOLLARS

What's In My Wallet?

This is a "Quick Tip" to help those that happened to notice something cool in their wallets (and it better than you think). (see below)

In the picture above you can see 3 lines of real money that has accumulated in my wallet (but you have your own). This is money that you have earned and you can do with it what you like. It is yours and you've earned it.

First Is STEEM

STEEM is a currency that has been created and you've earned. It trades exactly like every other currency in the world.

Note: Right now as of this moment the value (or also called the exchange rate) is US$6.21 for each STEEM you own. (Note: if you live outside the US just multiple your own exchange rate to the dollar by the dollar value of your STEEM)

You can get the current price by clicking this link (CLICK HERE)

You can sell it, you can buy it, you can hold it; just like any other currency. To find the value of your STEEM just multiple the amount you have times the price listed. So if you have 5 STEEM, you would have about $31 of value!

Calculation: 5 STEEM x US$6.21 = $31.05

Simple huh? :)

Next Is STEEM POWER (or SP)

STEEM POWER or more commonly referred to as SP is also very easy to understand. It is STEEM you have earned that you have decided to keep/invest into the platform. What do I mean invested? It means you are going to "tie" your STEEM up (or "invest" it) for a period of 13 weeks so that people know you are going to be around for awhile. You can get your SP powered down back into STEEM at the rate of 1/13th per week.

Note: you can always take your STEEM out if it is in your STEEM balance by just selling it to any exchange, BUT you can't redeem your STEEM POWER until you tell the system to "power you back down" into STEEM.

Said another way, STEEM is what you want to keep if you plan on selling it soon. STEEM POWER is what you want if you plan on being here for the long term and holding it.

Note: the benefits of keeping your money in SP is that you get higher voting power and more bandwidth. Both of which are desirable and useful benefits. If you see those big big votes that have ever hit your posts, its because the person that upvoted you had a lot of SP and therefore they have higher impact on your earnings.

So the value of STEEM or SP are exactly the same, the only difference is whether you want to sell it immediately or not.

Note: the way you power up your STEEM into SP is the click on it and select the option "power up". And the opposite is true too, to power down your SP back into STEEM you just select your SP and click on the "power down" button.

My personal opinion and my strategy is that I plan on being here long term, so I am investing all of my STEEM into SP by powering it up the minute I get it. Everyone has different objectives, but mine are to grow my SP over the long term. You have to decide your own strategy, this is just an attempt to explain how it works and what my thoughts are in regards to my own situation.

Finally We Also Have A Bonus Called Steem Dollars (or SBD)

This is a 2nd currency you earn that is independent of STEEM and is also yours to do with as you wish. You can buy, sell, or hold it. It also trades on exchanges (CLICK HERE) and you can sell it or buy it at any time you like (see my current quote below)

To find the value of your SBD just multiple the amount you have times the price listed. In my case I have 4.35 SBD, so I have value in this of about $36!

Calculation: 4.35 SBD x US$8.43 = $36.67

Finally ADD Your STEEM Value To Your SBD Value (And Find Out What's In Your Wallet) :)

So when you calculate your value of your account you just do this simple calculation:

Add up the total value of your STEEM + (SP) and multiply times the market price of STEEM

My account right now (0 STEEM and 18.334 SP) = total 18.334 STEEM x US$6.21 = $113.85

Add up the total value of your SBD and multiply times the market price of SBD

My account right now (4.35 SBD) x US$8.43 = $36.67

For a total of the 2 currencies (total value of my account) $113.85 + $36.67 = $150

Conclusion

This is just another "Quick Tip" that is meant to help those that don't understand how it works. I as always would be happy to answer any questions in the comment section below. In addition, if you would like me to personally look at your account and tell you exactly what its worth, just tag me in any comment @davemccoy and I will be happy to come and help you.

I plan on going over strategies in the near future and the different options that you have available to grow your balances wisely. I'm currently evaluating several services like @bumper that I have found to be a great help to me. I wanted to give you a basic understanding of what the currencies are so that you can take full advantage of the opportunities I plan to present ahead.

Have a terrific day and please leave any comments letting me know if this was useful. :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center