Engagement Rates on Steemit Vs. Facebook - Why Numbers Don't Tell the Whole Story

In this vlog, I analyze the difference between engagement rates on Steemit versus other social media sites such as Facebook. I have a few case studies listed below where I posted the same or very simliar content on both platforms.

An interesting thing happened... I got higher engagement rates on Facebook, but much more meangingful engagement on Steemit.

Facebook has created a culture of short, shallow level engagement - where Steemit has crafted a culture where thoughtful and quality comments are celebrated.

This difference in culture really allows users to get to know one another on a deeper level, sparks meaningful debate, and broadens their world view.

A Few Case Studies



As you can see, my posts on Facebook yieded a much higher engagement rate. What the numbers dont show though... is the quality of the engagement. I would take six thoughtful, meaningful comments anyday over 80 generic "This was great!" comments.

IMG_4608.JPG

Facebook Post



IMG_4607.JPG

Steemit Post





IMG_4611.JPG

Facebook Post



IMG_4612.JPG

Steemit Post


I honestly think this kind of culture is part of what will help draw more users to the platform. Once they start to see the kind of deep dialogue and discussion that happens every day here, they will start to bore with shallow interactions on other social media sites. I hardly spend any time on Facebook now because my time feels much more meaningful here on Steemit.

I hope you found this vlog interesting and/or thought-provoking. Just remember that every meangingful comment you leave here on the Steem Blockchain only helps to build this community even stronger.


Ps... I mention my sister @maryjaney in this vlog and how setting up her intro post sparked the idea for this video. If you want to stop by her Intro Post and say hello... it would mean the world to me! <3



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS



A Few of My Recent Posts


Dtube Exclusive - Hey There Delilah by Plain White T's (Ukulele Cover)
Mutual Friends - Why Introducing Each Other will Help Grow the Steemit Community
I Tried Intermittent Fasting... Here's my Experience (Full Blog + Dtube Video Inside)
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center