Fit@40 round 3

DSC_9320.JPG

So this Monday my man @nanzo-scoop came back for more tortu... I mean another session.

FB_IMG_1512004041818.jpg

And I've got to say for some one who has never done this type of training before he's picking it up fast!

My background is in kickboxing but I have been teaching/coaching stand up martial arts for almost 19 years now ( not full time).
I been privileged to have been taught and train with some of the sharpest minds in martial arts in the UK so have adopted and an adaptable teaching style. I base my session around the individual and move them on at the rate they learn just as I was when I started Kickboxing/Lau Gar Kung Fu.

FB_IMG_1512003777220.jpg

FB_IMG_1512081633517.jpg

FB_IMG_1512081724289.jpg
Nanzo has been watching and absorbing the fighting arts from his armchair for a while which seems to have hellped him as sometimes you come across students just seem to be able to see something a couple times and the nail it.

Nanzo is a thinker as well as an observer so he gets something's quickly and looses it when he tries to focus to hard on the other thing.

I can see his mind ticking away as he tries to get it perfect and at the same time focus on all the details!
I am still tailoring my style to match his.

As always we starting off on the cross trainer to get his Heart rate up and his blood flowing.
This is only for 5 mins but I change up his tempo each time so he never gets used to a set pace ( similar to fighting different opponents)

DSC_9286.JPG

We then hit the skipping rope which he's not doing to bad on and is starting to understand the tieder you get the harder it is to focus!

DSC_9318.JPG

At the moment he is only doing 2 rounds of 2 mins as I want to spend a bit more time with him hitting pads and working on the basic punches but putting them in to combinations.

The main focus is on getting him to relax so that his body can remember what it is meant to be doing.

Things like generating power in your punch only happen if you can generate the power from the ground up and to transfer in the most efficient way you must relax everything at the right times.

This week we had him punching and moving whilst focusing more on high rep combinations so that he didn't have much time to think about every small detail! Making him punch, move, punch turn, reset then go again seemed to get some really good shots out of him on the pads. When he notice a good shot he gets hungry to land another and at that point the technique goes out the window and his shot doesn't have the same impact.

He soon realised this at which point he was shattered!

Despite that one thing about Nanzo is that he is not a quitter and just as he did on the last 30sec on the cross trainer he dug in to his inner AJ and blasted them pads until the ref ( me) said stop!

Gotta give it to the guy!

He's shown that he is serious about getting Fit@40!

DSC_9326.JPG

POW!!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center