I paid my rent with Steemit!

I've seen people post about cashing out some Steemit earnings and having enough to cover their rent. I've been successful enough with Steemit in the past 2 weeks that I was able to do the same... but without even having to convert any coin!

My landlord was the one who told me about Steemit, and said he would accept rent payments in cryptocurrency. Paying my rent yesterday couldn't have been easier: I just transferred the correct amount of Steem Dollars to his account.

I first got on Steemit just to see how it would go, knowing that I could forget about it any time. I don't feel that way anymore! Using the platform has been second nature, since I would always use social media or blogging sites like Facebook, Tumblr, or Instagram before. The ability to pay my rent through this platform is an added bonus.


"Why yes, my world has turned upside down, let me tell you about some new-fangled technology..."

I wasn't into cryptocurrency at all before. The closest I got to transactions like the one yesterday was using apps connected to bank accounts to transfer USD. I thought I would just be converting my Steemit earnings to cash. Now, I see how cryptocurrency can be more efficient than anything I've used before if enough people are using it.

I know I still have a ways to go before I'm truly comfortable dealing in this new world, but I'm learning more every day, thanks to all of you. Steem on!

xo,

Cecilia

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now