How to write better on Steemit?

Have you ever noticed mistakes in your blog posts or others here on Steemit? I am very much guilty for this as sometimes we are just trying to get through our posts quickly to get them completed, so we can move on.

We want to improve and have well written posts that can always be useful and appreciated for a long time. They are here on the block chain forever! The rushing habit and not paying complete attention is just that... a habit.

I have one great tip that can help fix this for anyone and it may be useful for many other productive tasks.

Reading


Before you skip ahead let me explain how reading can improve your writing in a way that is not so obvious and what you may think.

As a daily reader now in my life I have started to noticed a pattern I was doing. Just like writing blog posts quickly trying to get through it, I would do this with my reading. I would try to scheme through some words at points and when I have to re-read a paragraph because I didn't quite grasp it, I noticed I mistaken a word for another one. I was not paying complete attention to each word and would assume what word it may have been.

This is a habit of rushing through your work and not paying complete attention to detail. For someone who is all about the details I was ashamed!!

Try this tip


When reading, slow it down and make sure you clearly see what word you are reading. Sound it out, spell it out, just make sure you know consciously what words you are reading.

This makes a big difference in creating a solid pattern of not rushing through your work, your reading, and performing any task quickly, which in the end will not be your best job. It is very easy to not notice errors when you have created this rushing pattern of completing tasks for yourself. Now that I have started to do this, I notice more of my writing errors and fix them before someone else spots them.

Read a bit more and thoroughly analyze each word to make sure you are not creating the pattern of jumping through things quickly. It will definitely help your performance here on Steemit and in all tasks you need to complete well.

@bitdollar

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center