Ideas on Writing a Quality Post on Steemit

I was scrolling through my feed because my baggage was delayed for one whole hour. I came across this post by @intelliguy commenting about the effort placed by @purepinay on her post. As expected, scrolling through the comments section, there are many who commented about how she has a lot of followers and a few whales to upvote her. @intelliguy provides a very good reason as to why effort and hard work should be poured into creating better content or else such money will be gone eventually.

I thought I would provide my thoughts on this, especially after seeing a comment by @uber-dragon, I think many are wondering how is it possible to produce a quality post. While I can't possibly promise that a whale would follow you, I would like to provide a framework as to how you can get started.

Posts Like @purepinay's


Image source

If you have read through @purepinay's post, @purepinay's post is a narrative post. The most important thing about posts such as this is, well great photos. Photos provide the readers with the ability to visualize the entire journey from her point of view. However, you can only go so far with pictures. Thus, you will find her writing or narrating about the journey, pointing out certain features and things of interest.

What sets posts like @purepinay's apart is that it provides a very first person point of view of a travel experience. In other words, how can you engage your readers to travel with you, to see the place through your eyes? This can be achieved by placing a photo of your travel experience above a short narration of that picture. If it was a beautiful waterfall, did you jump into it? Did someone fall in? or perhaps was there a prank that was played?

In summary, if you choose to write travel blogs, take great photos and use them to enhance your narration of the travel experience. The same technique can be used in other posts. A few examples include your wedding, your child's first day at school or even your first day at work. The possibilities are endless!

But I Don't Like Writing Posts Like @purepinay's


Image source

There are so many other types of posts that one can write. Personally, I prefer comparing what I do to something that is related to pop culture. I am teacher and I love comparing some aspects of my work to Star Wars. Here's an example on my daily struggle. Perhaps you are an architect or an engineer, in what way does your work remind you of something funny or ironic?

In writing posts like this, it is important to bring the readers into your world. I started writing about my experience as a teacher because teachers in my country were getting some very bad press. I wanted others to see our daily struggle and problems. I could write it like a travel blog and narrate my day to you, but I'm sure my readers will not find it interesting at all. Thus, I related it to something everyone knows of, that includes star wars, star trek or even a vegetable.

As such, you can try comparing something that you would normally do in your life to something funny or interesting. If you look hard enough, you'll be surprised how much content there is in your job, your family life and many more.

Some Other Ideas...


Image source

You could also consider writing reviews on a particular ICO, cryptocurrency or a product. There are many who do value different thoughts from different people before they invest. All it takes is for you to make the right call more than once and you will an increase of followers. All it takes, is some research and a short 300 word write up on your thoughts with regards to a known cryptocurrency or a new cryptocurrency.

If writing is not your niche and if you are an artist or a chef, consider writing posts on how you came to your incredible masterpiece. Consider adding a bit of your personality in your post. Some flock to Jamie Oliver due to his 'simple' recipes. I beg to differ. Some just prefer Gordon Ramsay due to his entertainment value. He swears in a way that is both terrifying and entertaining at the same time.


Image source

Conclusion

I write this hoping that it will help. I hope this helps in helping you create your very own quality post. Many of these ideas are contextualized from a subject called 'academic writing' which i teach in a university. So feel free to provide your thoughts on the ideas above in the comments below.

Finally, someone once gave me an advice on Steemit which I thought was really useful. You can't control when a whale will spot and upvote you, but you can control how much effort you put into your post. If it is quality posts that attract great curators and whales, why not start there?


follow_alvinauh.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center