PASSWORDs, KEYs AND HACKERs... A MUST READ

1111.jpg

Yesterday a creepy thing happened to my steemit account. I refreshed the page and it suddenly changed into French or Spanish or don’t know but a different language. I thought my account was hacked. It scared the shit out of me. I was using the same password as given to me when I signed up for steemit.

Then an angel @fred777bear came to my rescue. He suggested that I use the Posting Key and never use the main password (also known as Owner’s Key) to log-in for posts, upvotes, comments etc.

I immediately went to the wallet and changed my password (also known as Owner’s key). I followed these steps and you MUST TOO… Don’t let your account be compromised in anyway.

STEPS YOU MUST TAKE IMMEDIATELY

When you sign-up for your steemit account, you are given a password (Owners Key). This is the main key or password. Whoever owns it, owns the account. Since, I have been using it frequently and what happened last night I have to change it.

Step 1

Go To Wallet > Password > Enter Your Current Password > Generate New Password > Write It Down on a Piece of Paper > Re-Enter it Manually > Click Update Password.

a.jpg

Step 2

Go straight to wallet and permission section.

1.jpg

Step 3

Four keys are shown. Under Posting Key, click on Show Private Key and note down the key on a piece of paper and double check it whether you got it right.

2.jpg

Step 4

Under Active Key, click on Login To Show, and enter your main password (new one) and note down the Active Private Key on a piece of paper and double check it whether you got it right.

3.jpg

Step 5

Log-out from Steem.

Step 6

On Chrome

Click Right on Options > Scroll Over History and Open it > Click Clear Browsing Data > Click Advance > Check All Boxes > Click Clear Data

4.jpg

5.jpg

Step 7

Close Chrome and Open it again.

Step 8

Now Log-in on Steemit with Username and Posting Private Key that you wrote down on paper.

Step 9

Google ask you to save your password, click Never.

11.jpg

Step 10

Now Open Notepad, type all the KEYS you wrote on a paper and save it on a USB (External Drive).

Additional Details: What Keys are Used For

6.jpg

b.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center