Filmmaker's Diaries (7 of February 2018)

This week started with not so good news…

If you’ve been following this series you know that I’m making a music video. The first one after the never ending saga of getting the video company uploaded.

Previously I apple stated that this would be great and smooth, since the musician would “leave me alone” and then use the video to promote himself as much as possible.

Here is the article:
https://steemit.com/steemfilm/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-23-january-2018

Indeed it had potential to be exactly what I wanted to do right now. Freedom, creativity and quality in a short film type of music video. Plus was thinking it would be a prefect project to really try my camera out and get familiar the ins and outs of it. Experiment and learn about lenses and lightning, both gave never been my strong suit.

Yesterday, the musican told me he would rather do the video for another song…

This is the funny part, I had began to work on the video two days prior. A lot of things where going on, and was only able to start working on it then. So I should have started working on it earlier, but when I do start, the plan changes for another song.

It’s ok, I’ve gather some ideas that can be eventually used in another video. Next time I get a love/ hate short film video I can probably use this ideas. So even thought this video would be great and I could not wait to materialised this awesome ideas I had… it’s ok, I’ll have them for next time.

The big lesson here is as follows: Always ask for a deposit before you start working. Present the basic concept and budget to the artists and if you reach an agreement ask for a deposit. Among many things this will show you if his really serious and it will prevent you from working for a soon to be aborted project.

This is not the case with this particular video, he is my friend and has helped me with movies before. I’m doing it for free and I also need at least couple more videos, with the company seal, to be officially in the game.

Having said that a business atitude I’m going to take is that payment done in two settlements. 50% once we reach an agreement (non refundable) and another 50% after we’re done with filming. This will not only proceed the filmmaker in the payments department but it will filter many of the time wasters or scam artists wanna be’s. This will put a value on your time and the people who want to work with you , will see your serious and professional.

The issue here is that now he needs to send me the songs in his future mix tape. Again, this is good since he is even giving me the choice to pick the song for the video and again… this is a good sign that the video will run smoothly at least in the musician / filmmaker connection. But… I think this will take some time… he still needs to export the songs and then once we film the video, he still needs to mix the song… that will probably take some time. Wish it wouldn’t, but I think it will.

So… whats the new plan?

Let me tell you, I’ll just start working on another music video. A video for a song of mine. The issue here is that I still have to make the song… have the general idea and the beat ready. So I guess I’m family back to music!!

As always, thank you for reading.

By Upvoting this post you are helping independent artist!!

MAin.jpg

All images (except Logo) are from Pixabay.com

www.bamboofilms.pt

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center