Lesson #3, based on TED talks by ELIZABETH GILBERT

Elizabeth-Gilbert.jpg

This lesson is second part of the following lesson#1. As the text is pretty big in this lesson we are going to work only with a part of it.

First you need to study lesson#2, Part1.

Step 2: Watch and follow the text from 02:53 till 04:42 then pause the video. Complete the sentences with missing PREPOSITIONS {of, to, at, in, by, for, out, into, over, about, between}. (Part 2)

02:53 And you have ❒ understand that ❒ me, going home did not mean returning ❒ my family's farm. ❒ me, going home meant returning ❒ the work ❒ writing because writing was my home, because I loved writing more than I hated failing ❒ writing, which is ❒ say that I loved writing more than I loved my own ego, which is ultimately ❒ say that I loved writing more than I loved myself. And that's how I pushed through it.
03:15 But the weird thing is that 20 years later, during the crazy ride ❒ "Eat, Pray, Love," I found myself identifying all ❒ again with that unpublished young diner waitress who I used ❒ be, thinking ❒ her constantly, and feeling like I was her again, which made no rational sense whatsoever because our lives could not have been more different. She had failed constantly. I had succeeded beyond my wildest expectation. We had nothing ❒ common. Why did I suddenly feel like I was her all ❒ again?
03:40 And it was only when I was trying ❒ unthread that that I finally began ❒ comprehend the strange and unlikely psychological connection ❒ our lives ❒ the way we experience great failure and the way we experience great success. So think ❒ it like this: ❒ most ❒ your life, you live ❒ your existence here ❒ the middle ❒ the chain ❒ human experience where everything is normal and reassuring and regular, but failure catapults you abruptly way ❒ ❒ herethe blinding darkness ❒ disappointment. Success catapults you just as abruptly but just as far way ❒ ❒ here ❒ the equally blinding glare ❒ fame and recognition and praise. And one ❒ these fates is objectively seen ❒ the world as bad, and the other one is objectively seen ❒ the world as good, but your subconscious is completely incapablediscerning the difference between bad and good. The only thing that it is capable ❒ feeling is the absolute value ❒ this emotional equation, the exact distance that you have been flung from yourself. And there's a real equal danger ❒ both cases ❒ getting lost ❒ there in the hinterlands ❒ the psyche.

🚀 Next lesson with the rest of the text iis coing out soon...

✍ Comments are welcome 🙌.
❀ ❀ ❀ Follow me on Steemit @irina.olsen for more English learning posts! 🙋. ❀ ❀ ❀

Created by @irina.olsen

Materials used:

  1. TED talks
  2. Previous lesson#2 and next lesson#4.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center