Captain's Log: SteemDate 1 July, 9:00PM (Texas Time) 2017



Restoration
...................................................................................................................................................................
It Begins
.
TILT!

The trailer has a tilt 'bed'...and it is...the front is several inches higher than the rear.

Notice the channel iron center right in the photo...it should be DOWN...behind it's stop. It's not.

That's job one.

and...The tongue jack is broke...it's broke.

the handle just spins.. Off to home depot to buy 'stuff'.


Off with it's head...er bolts..
A little bit of WD40 special ingredient super dooper penatrating oil...two 3/4" box wrenches...(and a 5Ft cheeter bar in reserve...AND...I got those sucker OFF...(much easier than I had antcipated.)
.

.
and off it comes. The part of the trailer that the boat is sitting on is being supported by that bottle jack in the lower right of the picture.

BUT...

how do I get the bottle jack out? The boat is sitting on it.

.
I remembered that there was a lot of 'stuff' in the boat. I crawled inside (After opening all doors and windows for ventilation...recall the fumigation a few days ago?)...and found a 2 x 4. It was sufficiently long to do the job...I jacked the boat UP...inserted board...let the boat DOWN...gotta love hydraulics.

Now...

.
I miss my hammer.

I got out of the habit of having my mini sledge with me when I got off the truck

NEVER fear..that 5 foot cheeter pipe I bought when I used steem to buy tools and equipment earlier.

.
wham-wham-wham-wham

BAM!

...

aaaaand...it's down.


.
Next step on the agenda..
.

.
JackStands on each rear corner...tounge on blocks... 2 axels, four tires in the middle...It shouldn't move or lean much when I work on it.
.

The I cleaned it out.

Kinda...

I removed loose seat cushions...and miscellaneous 'stuff'...it took up MUCH more room in the little storage shed that I rented earlier than I thought it would...Gonna have to get a bigger one..

Day one of the restoration...DONE.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center