Boat



Discussion of 'stuff'


.............................................................................................................................................................................
Working on the SteemDreem

I'm in the deconstruction phase now and I will be for quite some time. As I've mentioned several times in the past the boat MUST have been full of water. Perhaps several times. Most likely it was rain or lakewater. I see no evidence of salt. That doesn't really matter since the foam water logged and all the wood is rotted or mildewed.

notice the water in the bottom of that hole? I dug the foam out to the fiberglass hull...water seeped in...

I'm not complaining...I expected as much. All I wanted was a sound hull. I think it is. The trailer is just a freebie.

That said...I'm thinking about how to re-build it.

The possibililties are almost endless.

I'd like input on this. Discussion.

Let's start at the bottom....

The hull is what I have been led to believe is called a 'cathedral hull'...



This is the rear.(stern)

This is the front (bow)

The shape is similar to that of a tri-maran in the front, but gradually fused together to the rear.
The center hull is almost a 'deep-vee'.

It was designed to plane. It had some serious horsepower.
I don't intend to do that. I dunno what I'm going to do for power yet other that I intend it to be solar...but it won't be a 'go fast' boat.

So..that brings to mind...BALLAST.

Weebils wiggle but they don't fall down.

Suppose I were to fill the 'deep vee'...up to floorboard level, with something heavy...

Comments?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center