Should Christians Eat Un-Clean Foods???

As Christians it is of great importance that we obey the words of God as they are revealed to us. I mean that as christians we believe that His word is complete and holds all of the answers that we seek. But sometimes those answers aren't clear because of our present capacity to understand not because the word is incomplete.
So I raise the question, should christians eat un-clean foods?

Now before getting started I have 3 rules you must follow.

  1. Examine this topic with as little bias as possible.
  2. Be honest with yourself and in your comments.
  3. Be kind and gentle with your words.

Now to define un-clean foods I will ask that you read Leviticus chapter 11 to save 1s and 0s. Lol
Now I think we can all agree that if God gave us a law we should keep that law until God says ok you can stop keeping that law now. Did God give that order? Did Christ give the order?

For the most part I am sure that most Christians will say that Christ declared all food clean or when he died on the cross the "old law" was done away with.
But when I hear that I hear "Christ died so that we can disobey Gods law and still be safe from Gods judgement.
My question to those who would say that is are you sure? And they would then say to me yes read Matthew 15:11 or Mark 7:15.
My reply is please re-read Matthew 15:2 and Mark 7:5.
You see the pharisees and Scribes were accusing Christ of not teaching and expecting his deciples to keep the traditions of the elders, which is to eat with clean hands. Immediatly Christ began to rebuke them for there breaking of the laws of God and pointing out to them that it isn't what goes into the mouth but what comes from the heart that defiles. He was trying to get them to examine themselves.
My conclusion is this wasn't a conversation of what foods are clean or un-clean, this was a conversation of keeping the traditions of the elders.
Then others would say read Acts 10:9-16.
But my reply? Read Acts 10:28
In Acts 10:28 Peter clearly says that the vision was God showing him that all men were to recieve the gospel for Christ have opend the door to all mankind not just for Jews. This vision had nothing to do with what foods we could now eat. Peter before understanding the vision clearly fought against the idea of eating un-clean foods. And if his vision was God showing him that all foods were acceptable to eat why didn't peter throw a big barbeque with pork chops as the main course? Because that wasn't what his vision was about.

The fact of the matter is Christ did not come to change, alter, or do away with the law. He came to be our example as to how to live, understand, and fulfill the law of our Mighty God.
Matthew 5 17-20
Romans 3:31
In the day of judgement there is a standard which we will all be judged so I leave you with this:
Matthew 7:21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Master, Master,’ shall enter into the reign of the heavens, but he who is doing the desire of My Father in the heavens.

22 “Many shall say to Me in that day, ‘Master, Master, have we not prophesied in Your Name, and cast out demons in Your Name, and done many mighty works in Your Name?’

23 “And then I shall declare to them, ‘I never knew you, depart from Me, you who work lawlessness!'

My hope is not to cause confusion or strife but to spark a fire of seeking and one that will burn up all traditions of men to make room for the commandments of God.
Be blessed and I urge you to seek truth in His word and not in men.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now