Steem And Me - 5 Questions Answered challenge by @snowpea

Hey Steemians,

I was recently nominated by @mimismartypants to take up the "Steem And Me 5 Questions Challenged" hosted by @snowpea! Yes, she's started a chain reaction and I thought what the heck let me give it a go! If you'd like to jump in with your own one check out the original post here for all the details because I ain't going to explain it to you, Do your own damn research!

Now that the formalities are out of the way, let's begin!

Screen Shot 2018-09-22 at 15.36.57.png

1) In my opinion, what are the two greatest aspects of the steem platform?

  • Something interesting is always going on. Every day I log in there is some new project, new drama, new people and new content for me to interact with it really is never boring and that's what I appreciate most at the moment. That could change once im a rich bitch with hella stake!

  • All the cool people I've met from all around the world and learning about how they think, see the world, there cultures and shit! I've never been more woke to the world than I am now, getting info straight from those who live there and not some shitty tourist blog!

2) What are the 2 largest complaints I have concerning the Steem platform?

  • This is not the most simple environment to use and if you're not clued up in doing your own research you miss the full spectrum of what's going on. The amount of dApps built is great but intergration into steemit from an end user is terrible. There is too much of a disconnect and it definately results in people becoming confused and frustrated pretty quickly.

  • Steemit is circle jerk and a bit of an elitist boys club at the moment and is marketeed to new comers as a meritocracy when it is not. You're content really doesn't matter, it is more you ablity to network and carry favour with as many people as possible and if you're lucky one of those people will have substantial research to supprt you. When I started using steemit i drank the kool-aid these other creators would push out, all this aspirational bullshit about be yourself, be creative and bla bla bla, thats the key! It's an element of it yes, but it's only a sliver of what you need in order to succeed.

3) What 2 moments are the most memorable to me?

  • Naturally one of them has to be when I hit minnow status. It really felt like all those months of posting finally meant something.

  • The second moment was probably when Steem hit 7 dollars, that was madness! I was still a tiny account at the time so It didn't mean as much to me but people were losing their minds and it was a pretty exciting time to be using the platform.

4) What are the two most important lessons I've learned in my time as a Steemian?

  • Research, research, research and experiment! After writing 50 posts and getting zero payouts it finally clicked in my stubborn head I had to find out how this damn thing works. I made it my mission to go through hours of blog posts to figure out how to effectively use the platform. Some were outdated, some were outright lies. Once I'd found the info I thought was valuable I'd test it and put it into practice and take note of the results. I'm by no means an expert but I've come pretty far since those zero payout days.

  • Be consistant regardless of payouts. Every post you make is an opportunity to earn, engage and build your reputation on the blockchain. Stay the course and eventually you will be rewarded and don't compare your account to others.

5) Out of my entire time here, what 2 posts am I most proud of?

Challenging you!!

I'm not going to bother challenging anyone because 1. I'm a rebel and like to do things differently and 2 most users are steemit purists so they don't get no damn notifications on mentions Learn to use a dApp already people.

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Put your votes to good use

We all can't max out our upvotes every day and a little help never hurt. Sign up to Smartsteem and sell a few of your votes each day, earn some STEEM and SBD in the process and still get in some curation rewards in STEEM Power. Check out SmartSteem


Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now