All Hail the QUEEN! How I finally got here!!

14435163_1428020967213334_1495074491204472114_o.jpg

I have been considering a blog for over two years now, and I am finally writing my first post! What took me so long, you might ask. Well.....I am the queen of getting in my own way. Simple as that! I'll give you a little background....

After my 48th birthday, I began working for the IRS. (I have had many jobs. But we'll save that info for another post.) I am NOT a numbers person, but I was desperate for a "responsible" job with good benefits, and this one fit that criteria. I continued to work there for about eight years, until office politics and just plain disatisfation became too much and I took a leap and left to go back to school to pursue a more creative career path.

So I started back to college for a degree in Design. I am a tiny house enthusiast and felt this was a way to get experience in drafting and other fundamentals for a career in designing/building tiny homes. Things started out great, but slowly turned into a financial struggle. Long story short, after eight months I returned to the IRS in a seasonal position, thinking this would only be temporary until I could return to school or begin a tiny home business.

So here I am, only two weeks away from being laid off. I have recently discovered that my state's unemployment rules dictate that I need to make a certain amount of money (from an insured employer) during the previous year from when I file for benefits. I was in school during this time, and only earned wages for ten weeks in 2016. Therefore, I do not qualify for unemployment benefits!! WOW!

13882309_1369812239700874_7209259347707710130_n.jpg

I spent about one day serving up margaritas and episodes of Orange is the New Black for my pity party. This would have normally taken me at least a week to get over, but I have recently begun a very fulfilling spiritual awakening journey, and firmly believe all things happen in order to guide us to our true purpose in this life. So I have picked myself up, meditated, and begun listening to the universe and her now, not so subtle, way of guiding me! An old proverb says "Necessity is the mother of invention". It's very true. Sometimes the universe has to make that necessity a big one! I truly needed this KICK in the ASS! Otherwise I would still be finding ways to stay complacent in my life. Wandering around aimlessly, blaming everything but myself for why I am not doing what I want and deserve as a part of this beautiful experience called life. I honestly like Mark Twain's version of that old proverb better. It fits my situation to a tee!

Necessity is the mother of taking chances.jpg

I became addicted to YouTube during my hiatus from work. After class and homework, I would sit down and listen to inspirational videos by fellow lightworkers. It kept me motivated and grateful! But if you are at all familiar with constant viewing of YouTube, you find yourself branching off into many different genres. This is where I began learning about cryptocurrencies and in particular Steem. Thanks to Jerry Banfield!! I have always done well and enjoyed English and writing. I have therefore always thought it would be fulfilling to write a blog. But I also have a lifelong habit of talking about doing something, and then allowing my insecurities to talk me right back out of it! All hail the Queen of Self Defeat!

But that's is NOT going to happen this time! I am now writing this blog post and swelling with pride over just typing these words. No outer circumstance will derail my intention this time. I'm no longer listening to the "Queen". I have decided to make my blog a part of this wonderful, supportive, and lucrative community so that I can hopefully inspire others to do so also. And if I make money (Steem) along the way, it just adds to the experience. I am so excited to begin this new part of my journey, and hope I will provide motivation and enjoyment to those who come along!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now