RE: RE: Hate putting private keys into websites? Introducing Steem Keychain!
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hate putting private keys into websites? Introducing Steem Keychain!

RE: Hate putting private keys into websites? Introducing Steem Keychain!

To my knowledge, SteemConnect (from v2) does not store your private keys, it uses you active key to grant posting authority to the dapps that was using SteemConnect. The key is not needed later on when posting or upvoting. The private key is still requested for each transfer or settings request. Utopian got hacked in the past, the hacker could not retrieve the keys because there was nothing to retrieve, they could only use the Thank you for your work on this and I sure appreciate that it offers a faster and simpler option. I'm not technical, so I don't understand a lot of these things, but my understanding is that browser extensions are not really that secure either. I've always been told it is kind of sketchy to use your password with an extension. Am I wrong there?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center