Waiting for superman to fix STEEM

I might anger one or two folks with this post, but in truth, my intention is not to create enemies, but to bring some thoughts into consideration. I'm not trying to dismiss some of the issues we have with the platform, how the system of incentives is not ideal, etc, I think to anyone who practices honesty these are very apparent. But, are we falling for the whole "having a cake and eating it too" cognitive inconsistency?

img src

OMG everyone is powering down


Yes, it's seems to be true. There are many accounts who are currently selling their STEEM Tokens. Should this worry you? Well, I guess if you are thinking short term, then yes. Because this means that the current price of STEEM is not about to turn around. However, the important distinction "short term".

The way I see it, is that those who are selling at the moment, those who are powering down, leaving the platform because "it's not worth it" are probably doing the right thing for the platforms health in the long term. In other words, there is a big chance these accounts were consistently selling all their earnings, never building any kind of influence, never compounding their social entrepreneurship capabilities anyways. So, as much as I may sound like a jerk, maybe it's good that someone with a "Taker" mentality is leaving the blockchain.

I'm careful as to make a generalization because I'm sure there are reason, and reasons. Some people might have some medical emergencies, financial troubles and what have you. So, for them, it's the only reasonable choice. However, some of the people who complain the most, are in my book just acting entitled.

I have the current attitude, maybe to my own detriment mind you. "Oh, you don't want the tokens... I'll take em" If they think this is not worth it, that's fine, I want those tokens. I'll try to build something with them.

OMG the system is broken


I agree, I completely agree that it is. The system of incentives is not working as it intended, and the distribution of tokens is not really happening as it should. However, what are we doing to fix it? What are you doing? - Here is the part were I must put a mirror in front of your face and ask you.

Are you part of the problem? Maybe not actively, maybe you are not "circle jerking" as they call it, or abusing bidbots using spam or anything that blatant. But, are you part of the problem too.

Are you selling every single token you make? Are you supporting anyone? Are you engaging in productive conversations? Are you attempting to change the culture of the platform? Are you teaching people in your way to be balanced? Are you flagging when someone is being abusive or offensive? Or are you just sitting on the sidelines waiting for superman to show up?

OMG... Where is superman?


My point is that he is not coming, he doesn't exist. You know, as much as I would love it if the day of tomorrow something magical would happen, it's not likely to. What are the chances that @dan is going to come back and "fix it" and honestly what if his idea of "fixing it" is also not the right one?

Let's be honest about some things that are actually verifiable:

  • the trending page was never grandiose
  • early adopters made more steem simply because of math, not because of content
  • many people are holding unrealistic expectations (not everyone here is due to win a pulitzer)

If we can depart from those three points, maybe we can have a healthy conversation as to how to move forward. How to create a better system of incentives, how to attract investment, etc. But, if we keep on holding on to romantic ideas of the past, we simply won't, we simply can't.

The Energy Spent


This is the point I'm hoping to convey. Where are you spending your energy, your time? - Listen, you don't have to answer me, I'm not important in your life, not really. I'm simply saying that every single one of us should be asking this very question before we rage quit, come back, quit again, write salty articles on medium, come back, etc.

Not to be mean, but these are exercises in futility. Maybe I'm getting too old, maybe I'm losing a tiny percentage of my sympathy or I'm suffering from sympathetic exhaustion if there is even such a thing. But, I can't help but to not feel bad for those who all they do is whine.

Am I turning evil?


• Yes, I just unfollowed you
• Why are you really here? - Rant Vlog
• Time traveling is possible
• Friday Talk - Helpienauts 8/3/2018
• Humanizing our enemies

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center