How do you know when its your health or your mind that makes you fidget? :-/

 

My new friend #bruceking posted an article today on Steemit from sleep-journal and other repositories for the restless unhappy. It made me rethink how I treat myself.  Here is a quick link to his post.  

Hear me out....

 You know, I think I really needed to see this today. My work has been going down hill and I feel anxiety for no reason. I remember when I was a child, if I didn't get enough sleep I wouldn't be able to talk to any of my friends. I would be a real bummer, face all scrunched up and frowning. Pulling ponytails and chasing girls across the playground just didn't feel the day after I didn't sleep at 9 pm like Mama said.Strangely, after growing up we are so habitually sleepless that we think it normal. I think is partly because we are encouraged by our culture of coffee shops open all day, fast food, gaming, media, and technology which are all catered to our night owl existence. If it were not for holding down a 9-5, some many more of us would be waking up at noon. 

You are not alone...

I think there's real problem with anxiety, depression and other mental health diseases that are the result of our collective indifference to sleep. I know I have bad sleep habits now but I wonder to what extent I have really suffered. I wish I could cite you the study that showed that sleep deprivation causes the participant to greatly reduce his productive capability, though unbeknownst to them. I wonder if I would enjoy the trees and outdoors more. How social interaction would feel when my body is rested and mind is cleared. I speculate if that wonderful splendor of the evening sunset that I remember from my childhood would return. In those days, how I awed at simple things with that empty mind and body that did not fidget.I wonder if it is my health - the sleep deprivation, the use of cannabis, the eating of red meat.... I wonder if it's my body and how I've abused it through the many things we see normal in our society that makes me lose focus through the day, sweat the small stuff, lose control of my emotions and go for those things that gratify me instantly. Those things that I feel bad for doing. I wonder if its what consume and physical condition of my body and mind that does all that OR if its me - that somehow, I've lost touch with myself in the web of belief that I've constructed to help me chase after all that splendor in my dreams.Sometimes I wonder... But maybe it's time to sleep better, exercise, and treat my body with respect.

 It's gotta start somewhere right? 

**** I usually am more on the crypto topic but I just needed to vent this today. ****

Thanks for reading guys. 

May fortune find you down the road.

Best regards,

Mal402

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now