My rant: Just like the mountain, the Steem blockchain owes you nothing.

Trigger warning: If you don’t like reality, self indulgence, or a bit of swearing, jog on.

So my last full day in Lalibela was today, and I decided to climb a nearby mountain. It wasn’t a particularly tall or difficult mountain, but it’s been raining for months, so there was lots of slippery mud and rocks that led to sheer drop offs and certain death. I did summit Kilimanjaro some time back, but I’m not a very adept mountaineer. I spent a lot of time scrambling, crab crawling, and sliding around in the wet on my ass while my guides hopped from stone to stone with ease.

What does this have to do with STEEM you ask? This mountain didn’t owe me a damn thing. I had to climb it. I wasn’t entitled to get to the top. STEEM is the same way. That little counter that ticks up dollars and cents. THAT IS A FUCKING ESTIMATE. Yes, I wrote that in all caps. If you get downvoted and that number goes down, they aren’t taking shit away from you. They are reallocating rewards back to the pool because they feel they would be better used elsewhere. In some cases, they are just being an asshole because they don’t like you. I don’t like people who do that, but they exist. The downvote may be because you did something really shitty like plagiarism, or maybe you were just rewarded too much. Boo whooo. It’s not personal.

You aren’t entitled to shit until it hits your wallet, so stop fucking crying about not getting rewards ‘you earned’. Oh yeah, and by the way, there is probably some person out there doing a shit ton of work getting paid less than you who isn’t crying about it. You aren’t entitled to shit, and I’m sick and tired of people thinking they are because they ‘put in so much work’. Take a look around asshole.

Oh, that $100 you spent on that big promotion, ahem bid bot. Why do I give a flying fuck you paid some dude to upvote your shit? What the fuck does that have to do with me? If your shit is too expensive in terms of rewards, I’m going to downvote it, and send that money to someone working hard. You might as well get over that shit too. If you are losing money on the deal, not my problem and not STEEM’s problem. As a concept, I think they are fucking stupid and distort the reward pool.

So feeling angry, feel like downvoting me out of spite for this reality bomb? Go right ahead. I don’t give a shit. Most of my STEEM I bought, and unless you can downvote the contents of my wallet, you’ll hear no crying foul from me. It just may be possible that I see you in my notifications enough that I take a harder look of what kind of shit you are so defensive about.

Oh and on abuse. There are lots of people doing work trying to protect YOUR REWARD POOL for very little in return. Is it really a cool thing to get all butthurt because some people thought you were over-rewarded for putting some garbage on trending? Maybe you thought that rewording someone else’s hard work was yours, or changing a color or other aspect on someone else’s art makes it yours. Move the fuck on—learn from the experience. If you retaliate and cry about conspiracy theories, you are the only one that comes off looking like an asshole.

So back to the mountain. Yes you may get a booboo trying to make it to the top, you may suffer a setback. Just put your head down and keep going with your journey, because the universe, or the mountain, doesn’t owe you a goddamn thing. Neither do I, or anybody else here.


Hey, like reaching the end of this post you've scaled a mountainous rant, so cheers to you from the top of some mountain I forgot the name of.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now