My suggestion for curation rewards: Remove the voting reward

The suggestion, to remove curation rewards is completely absurd.
I have now seen a few people actually suggesting that.

The latest post I saw was this one by @clayop.

Even @steemitblog plans it here.

We propose to role out the new curve for the comments only because comments do not have curation rewards in the next release.

Can anybody explain to me, why I would want to hold Steem Power then ?
I can use it to reward posts. What's in it for me ?

To get a return on my investment, I'd have to vote for myself.
Or I find some buddies to vote for, who then vote me in return.*
*As if that wasn't already happening enough

I could use my Steem Power to vote for 30 witnesses, but at this point I can't even find 30 witnesses to vote for, who didn't disqualify themselves by irritating voting behavior or by making absurd suggestions, like the one above.

What if

we could just remove the 'voting reward' ?

As it is now big stakeholders get a 'curation reward' simply for voting.

Even if nobody votes it, after they have voted on it, they will get a handsome reward.
Meaning that stakeholders, who don't vote, have a disadvantage to those who do - Regardless of what they vote for.

This basically forces Steem Power holders to vote 40 times a day, if they don't want to lose out.

Is it not possible to only pay a curation reward, if other stakeholders have also voted for it ?
The stakeholder, who finds the interesting content first, would get the most out of it.

That would be curation.


I also agree on the suggestion that SP-holders, who don't vote at all, could get a little reward for that, too. After all, if you don't have anything to vote for, there shouldn't be an incentive to just vote for the sake of it.

This is probably complicated or impossible to implement, but it would be fair, if the more Voting Power one has left, the more he/she should get from the SP Inflation.


I'm still shocked, that this is really an ongoing debate.
If it was meant as a joke or satire, I apologize.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now