The Surprising Rise Of STEEM

If you follow me for more than 24 hours, then you know I really love numbers. Numbers have this ability to "keep cool" even in extreme conditions. During a hurricane, 1 + 1 will still make 2. But we, humans, we kinda get scared during a hurricane and we call this situation: "getting emotional".

Now, don't get me wrong, it's very healthy to get emotional during a hurricane, because, being scared and all, you'll look for shelter and, most likely, this will save your life.

But we humans, we're not very good at assessing situations, so we're often scared when we really shouldn't.

Not everything that looks like a hurricane is actually a hurricane.

Like, for instance, during the last 2 days of a sharply bearish market. In just 2 days, Bitcoin lost almost 30% of its value. The entire market was in red. Blood on the streets. The bubble popping. The end of the world.

Or was it?

Hmm, let's look at the numbers. Because they keep being correct even during hurricanes.

Exactly one year ago, Bitcoin was trading at $872.5 and STEEM, exactly one year ago, was trading at $0.16.

Now, today, Bitcoin is trading at $12,038 and STEEM at $4.43.

In other words, Bitcoin grew 13.79 times.

But STEEM grew 27.68 times.

During the last 365 days, the growth of STEEM, compared with the growth of Bitcoin, in USD, was two times higher. However big was Bitcoin's growth, STEEM just doubled that!

Let that sink in for a moment.

If you want to verify these numbers, please be my guest, try Coinmarketcap, that's from where I got them.

So, next time the weather gets nasty in the cryptoland, look at the numbers first and get scared only - and only - if they are really bad.

If they're not - and in our case, they're clearly not - just grab some chips and tomato sauce.

You know, for the dip...


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center