Are we using Steemit in the right way? Spend a few minutes to read this and leave a comment below

Hi everybody,

I want to open a debate about the usage of Steemit, or let's say about the drift that Steemit took thanks to the way people use it.

steem_success.jpg

I'm a new/old user, which means I started one and a half year ago, quitted for a while and now restarted. The reason was that I lost my password, but I cannot deny that laziness played a big role too.

I remember the reason why I started using Steemit: getting rewarded for the good contents I share with the community. The purpose was not just earning money as any other job, but focusing on something I like, share it with the community and getting a fair reward for my efforts which normally weren't rewarded at all.

It was a way to take back the value we all dissipate by using other social networks (for free), which in turn they collect pieces of information about us: the only purpose is selling us other things and create new needs in our poor lives.

@freiheit introduced me to Steemit and now he's moving away because he believes new users are not using this social network in the right way: all his reasons are explained in this post.

Here's a brief quote from his post:

Everyone that goes begging for votes in telegram chats, is killing Steemit.
Everyone that buys votes or sells votes, is killing Steemit.
Everyone that swaps his vote, is killing Steemit.
Every whale that is not here just to make a short-term speculation should start red flagging every single post of each person that has a similar behavior. Whales should infiltrate themselves in telegram chats, to discover this actions and start red flagging people behaving in this selfish way.

I still believe that good contents can be fairly rewarded, even though it's getting harder and harder, especially if you start from zero. A lot of good users are publishing valuable contents like, for instance, this guy @miyata1987 which I don't know but he's make brilliant drawings every day and get unfairly rewarded, while I see loads of poor contents way too highly appreciated.

Another mention to my friends @yoganarchista and @sature which thanks to the good contents and the good rewards are opening a psychedelic bookshop in Berlin - here's the site - so yes, they are getting good rewards, but because the DESERVE IT, not because they buy votes.

We all agree that Steemit can be a great way to make money, but...Weren't we here to fight against the system, somehow? Weren't we here to change something? What I see is that we are applying (or better who's using Steemit in a bad way) here the same bad patterns we're trying to get rid of.

I would like to know your opinions about, more than getting your upvote: I will get as much as I deserve anyways, but right now I would like to hear your voices about the community we are in, about the tool we use every day.

Have a nice and happy day ;)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center