Would you be pissed off if I powered down and left without saying goodbye?

A big fat 'no' from some, but they have ignored or don't follow me anyway. I was wondering, in light of recent 'goodbye' posts, if leaving unannounced this is cool or not.



source


Over the past few days, I've read a couple of posts and been contacted on both Discord and Whatsapp regarding a prominent and long-standing content creator who has recently announced that they are leaving Steem. If you aren't aware who the leaver is, I think it's not important for the discussion.

I should probably state that I have no intentions of leaving the network!

I have invested too much time and energy here to leave before the party starts - yes I'm bullish on a party or two in the future.

So back to the question in the title of the post, and using @tarazkp's latest to help put a couple of points across - why announce that you are leaving, and what are you actually leaving?

For the majority of the active/engaged community, to leave would mean freeing up plenty of hours in the day - too many to count for some, including me. I've written before with regards to my last relationship (even though the girl was also involved here) being put under huge stress due to the time I spent Steeming, and so exiting would suddenly free up an immense amount of time. We are a month away from mid-summer in the northern hemisphere, and there are sandy beaches very close by for some.

An argument could be made for hitting the beach, taking a few snaps or a surf video and uploading it at the end of the day - this wouldn't be too time consuming, would it? For a lucky 'few' though, this content might receive visitors, visitors that you wish to respond to and engage with, thanking them for their support, or trying to explain why the beach is full of grannies. This is going to take some more time, and then you should probably go see what they have been up to.

And then go check your drugwars/nextcolony/steemmonsters etc, etc. I think in leaving, there is certainly a 'where has my day gone' element for some.

You are also leaving a Steem wallet, likely empty but not destroyed, unless you throw away the keys...

Anything else? People.

Depending on your level of involvement, this could be a big or a small thing. Those who turned up to rent out their SP and get on with their lives will likely not have any trouble here, but for those who have written upwards of 30,000 comments in the past two years, there is certainly more to think about.

And so if the decision was made to cut ties with creating content on Steem, battling with Steemmonsters cards, etc, this for me would also include thoughts about the people I have conversed with, played games against, got drunk with at Steemfest, etc.

Leaving without so much as a thank you and a farewell, would seem rude to me. Isn't that what a final post is for - payout declined / bid-botted or otherwise?

Asher

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now