Steemit help - How to check your voting power, add Emojis, and format your posts

Hi fellow Steemians,

As a newbie, I didn't know how to format the text nicely, add emojis, or look up how much voting power I had left. I found answers to some of my questions from Google and old Steemit posts. In this post, I will share what I learned with you.

1. How do I check how much voting power I have left?
This is actually pretty easy. You can go to steemd.com/@username where you substitute your username in. For example, if you username is "sillymonkey" you would type in steemd.com/@sillymonkey

Voting power.png

2. How to add Emojis
@blueorgy has done a wonderful job compiling a list of popular Emoji codes. Check it out below:
https://steemit.com/emojis/@blueorgy/steemit-emojis-master-list
My favorites are 😄 😄 😊 😊 and 😉 😉
Make sure you include the ; at the end of the Emoji code, otherwise it won't work!

3. How to format your text nicely
Steemit uses Markdown to format text. It's pretty straight forward to you. You can click on the "Markdown Styling Guide" which is right above where you preview your post, or you can just go to https://guides.github.com/features/mastering-markdown/.

The most useful formatting I've found are bold and italics.

To make something bold, you just need to add ** around a word or a sentence. For example, **Hello!** becomes Hello!

To italicize something, you add _ around the word or sentence. For example, _Thanks!_ becomes Thanks! Check out the guide, it's got loads of info!

4. How to add line breaks

One thing not found in the Markdown Styling Guide which I accidentally stumbled upon is how to make line breaks. If you type ***, it will look like this:


See, it added a nice little line across the page to break your post into different sections! You can try it out on your posts too!

I hope you have found this post helpful!

If you enjoyed this post, feel free to upvote, resteem and follow me! And please leave a comment to let me know what you think!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center