Steem Cartoon : @aurah doing the Manga

This is for starters, so unlike me but nevertheless this is a famous cartoon style drawing which is drawing many people to start drawing.

header .jpg

In order to create a digital drawing there are many concepts which will give the edge to a digital artist to move further in the industry. The ability to mess around with techniques is very important to make the artwork a quality one. This posting I will share a bit about my technique in colouring ala manga. This is the first time I am attempting something that I have never tried. Lets see how I create this poster size painting.

step1.jpg

This is the part on the character design. Before I start painting I will look for the right colour for the ninja character. Once I manage to get the right colour I will try to get more detail and attempt to get the right style that is suitable for rendering my painting later.

step2.jpg

From the inking we can start to include the basic colour. The range of this flat colour is within the meidum range so that it would make it easier for us to include the shadow and lighting.

step3.jpg

Once the colouring process of completing the character, we can start looking for the background colour. This shot I choose the location which is approximately in the evening to give it a colourful and cheerful outlook. I will use the orange colour as my base colour fro the background so that I can match with the colours of the surrounding.

step4.jpg

In this process we can use medium rendering of detail to get the colour structure on the front objects.

step5.jpg

This is still the same process but I try to include the shadow by using layer multiply. This part I will detail the distant hill with a darker colour at the lower opacity rate to obtain the shadow for object which is far.

step6.jpg

I will include the colour of the sky by placing the position of the sun on the hill to get the focus point at the right composition for this visual.

step7.jpg

Once I am happy with the positioning of the sky, I will add the clouds on the front part by doing simple rendering so that it will look cartoonish. Once I am complete with the entire background process we move to the part on character colouring.

step8.jpg

This is the part of the flat process colour that is completed.

step9.jpg

From the flat colour, we include shadow by using layer multiply on the part of the outline by changing the colour to a slightly darker colour so that it will be easier to guide when the process of entering rendering brush.

step10.jpg

This process will take a bit of time because it takes patience and perseverance to complete the rendering using brush.

step11.jpg

This is the completed work. Till we manga again!



credit to @zomagic

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center