STEAM GIG: FREELANCE STAGE DESIGNER

Good day steem it!

I have been absent for almost 2 days now. I have been working on a stage that I am very eager to share with you guys.

A college from a local university here in my place was set to have their culmination activity for their college days last Feb 28, 2018. As the culmination activity was fast approaching, they hired me to make their stage.

20180228_172928.png

I have since made stages for my university as well. It started from my own college, and then other colleges started t see my work and hired me as well. I have been doing this job for almost 5 years already. I'll be posting the work in progress photos so that you might also learn from what I do. I hope you guys enjoy.

Conceptualization and Design

First off, the organizers of the event and I met at their event venue for ocular inspection. I always see to it that I get a grasp of the scale of the place first, so that I can see where to play with the lights and colors.

The organizers told me that the theme for their event is HARRY POTTER, s I guess I have to create a victorian/oldbritish vibes to it.

27747029_2042939179055723_1399670604_o.jpg

This is the picture I got of their stage. This is the raw and undesigned venue.

28035011_10211901956647152_991844644_o.jpg

So I searched for ideas and settled for broken glass patterns and also some pillars with golden snitches as busts. golden snitch are harry potter items that they use for a wizard game called quidditch

The making

So first I had to saw and nail together wooden frames for the pattern to be put in. After the frames are made, we used a gun tucker to put white cloth around it. Then after, we pasted the cut out pattern on it.

DSC_0075.JPG

the wood used for the frames

2 (2).JPG

My friends cutting out the pattern

4 (2).JPG

we pasted the patterns on the white cloth by putting glue on it

5 (2).JPG

this is the pattern glued on the white cloth

3 (2).JPG

we made 6 pillars with patterns.

We made the back draft and the pillars that way and after that, we transported them to the venue.
We then placed them like how it was on the edited image and placed lights adjacent to them.

We chose the white cloth because it absorbs the colored light being put adjacent to it. then the black colored pattern won't absorb and reflect the light so it will create a very eminent contrast against the white cloth.

The stage with lights

DSC_0020.jpg

DSC_0033.jpg

DSC_0065.jpg

DSC_0101.jpg

DSC_0036.jpg

the pillars with the golden snitch

DSC_0049.JPG

the golden snitch

The beautiful contestants

DSC_0173.jpg

DSC_0170.jpg

DSC_0143.jpg

DSC_0151.jpg

DSC_0156.jpg

DSC_0161.jpg

The final stage:

20180228_172928.png

so that was it.

I hope you guys enjoyed and learned something from it!

#thanks for passing by

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now