RE: RE: March Arts Madness | Week 2 | $500+ Prize Pool | HOW TO PARTICIPATE
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: March Arts Madness | Week 2 | $500+ Prize Pool | HOW TO PARTICIPATE

RE: March Arts Madness | Week 2 | $500+ Prize Pool | HOW TO PARTICIPATE

It is awesome to see a place for artists to show their work. I'm still new to Steemit so I'm still getting all of this figured out. I thought entering this #stateofthearts contest would be a great way to get to know some of you creative people. I used to paint and I still do some photography and design work but I have focused on functional art (pottery) for the last several years.

Hopefully this is allowed: I'm going to enter the best 5 of my most recent drinking vessels. These were all thrown on the pottery wheel and are made with stoneware clay.

pots-0669.jpg

The handles were pulled and attached by hand. Glazes were dipped and poured by hand. I fired these mugs and cups to over 2200 deg. F

The 3 on the left were fired again after I applied ceramic decals which I designed using old public domain maps. The two on the right have my favorite glaze combinations including one that moves a lot while firing.

I would love to answer any questions. I'll check back later, for now I have to glaze some more pots. Thanks!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center