My Life in the 501st Legion and the Rebel Legion

My name is Troy Brierly and I am 48 years old. There are many facets to me but a big one is my life long fandom of the Star Wars world and the many components of it. Yes, I still have action figures. Yes, I get excited for every new movie, product line launch and Star Wars news. BUT, the one part I love the most is costuming. Now, when I say that I DO NOT mean just regular cosplay.

I mean screen and character accurate costume making and wearing. I do this with two international organizations. I am a member of the 501st Legion (Golden Gate Garrison) as Grand Moff Wilhuff Tarkin and as Mav Uktic (a Jawa) in the Rebel Legion (Endor Base).

The 501st Legion- The "Bad Guys"
19237791_10211760411359439_6838812572375778458_o.jpg
Me with Vader, a TK and Boba

What is it? From Article I of our Legion Charter:

"...The Legion is an all-volunteer organization formed for the express purpose of bringing together costume enthusiasts under a collective identity within which to operate. The Legion seeks to promote interest in Star Wars through the building and wearing of quality costumes, and to facilitate the use of these costumes for Star Wars-related events as well as contributions to the local community through costumed charity and volunteer work..."

To Promote Interest in Star Wars
While a growing number of people are experiencing a reawakening of their Star Wars fandom, new generations are seeking ways to celebrate their passion for George Lucas's modern mythology. The 501st Legion brings these fans together, reinforcing the enduring longevity of the Star Wars saga.

To Facilitate the Use of Costumes
Some fans are content to collect action figures...other fans want to be action figures. Nothing professes your passion quite like building your own detailed costume replica of a classic Star Wars villain, and there's nothing quite like the feeling that comes from bringing the characters of Star Wars into the real world and sharing the magic with others.

To Contribute
While our organization was founded to simply provide a collective identity for costuming fans with similar interests, the 501st is proud to put its resources to good use through fundraising, charity work, and volunteering. To learn more go to: https://www.501st.com/

The Rebel Legion- The "Good Guys"

20638906_10155652066632710_4663112122403892132_n.jpg
Me with some scary Empire types behind me

The mission of The Rebel Legion is threefold. First, we offer the costume enthusiast of the Star Wars hero characters a global community to enjoy, express, and share their costume talents. Secondly, the Legion also promotes the quality and improvement of Star Wars costumes. Thirdly and most importantly, we follow the lead of Lucasfilm Ltd. by giving back to the community through works of charity and volunteerism. For information go to: http://newsite.rebellegion.com/

I am proud to be a member of both and to represent the intellectual property of Lucasfilm and the Walt Disney Company. The money that we have raised for the Make A Wish Foundation as well as the other charities we help is something I'm happy to be a part of. If you are at all interested I encourage you to ask any questions and I'll do my best to answer or find you an answer. May The Force Be With You.
24313137_2028065317439720_7234816181550548621_o.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now