Homeless...

You struggle, fight, work, thrive, do everything to build your life from the ground up. You create a meaningful life out of nothing. An education, a job, a career, friends, social life, hobbies, skills, everything, and one mad man comes out of nowhere and destroys everything. I have nothing now. Literally nothing except a few clothes, some dry food, a few documents that I luckily could pack, and handouts that the nice Polish people gave me. No more dreams, no more aspirations, no job, no house, just hanging in limbo as an educated young hobo.

The life I built is no more.

I spent the last night in the train station. I do not have a roof over my head since the support I had for the few days has come to an end. The embassy has outright thrown me on the streets and will not help anymore. And my hands are itching to show the world the reality of how they have "helped" their people in Ukraine.

There are a couple of problems I am currently facing. I like keeping my problems to myself and work them out. But I really feel like venting. That is why I keep saying that having a person to talk to in such a situation means more than the world. I already registered for shelter. However, I knew my chances were slim to none since I am a male, brown, with a Ukraine permanent residence permit, citizen rights only. Meanwhile, there are kids and women with the Ukrainian passport and they will and always should get the first priority. More and more are pouring in as the situation gets worse. And all of them deserve any help they can get.

I spent the day on the streets just walking about the city. I eventually made it to the train station where there is a surplus of information and help. The volunteers are working day and night to make the lives of people like myself a little easier. I found water, sandwiches and coffee over there. I spoke to the volunteers and decided to wait out the night in the station itself. Yes, I slept there. 4 hours of peaceful sleep. It is more than anyone could ask for.

A firefighter asked me about my situation, and then guided me to a shuttle bus that would take me to the expo where the large space has been turned into a shelter. It is an incredible and very helpful initiative. Thousands of families and children and women are there. There is food, medical points, and even playground for the kids. I was there for about an hour before I had to leave. I cannot blame anyone. I do realize that a person of my status could possibly taking up the space that a kid could use instead. Why I had to leave is something some people will understand if they know the situation within EU first hand. Especially Poland. If anything, everyone was nice about it, didn't use force, and helped me book a taxi. Poland is incredibly helpful and the support is unbelievable!! Much love!!

So now I am back in the train station huddled next to a extension cord sitting on my luggage making this post. The votes you give are helping me immensely. The kind donations by hivers has given me some back up. I need to budget this money properly. I am planning to go to a cheap hostel to spend the coming nights. Money is tight and the hostels in Warsaw are kinda expensive on this budget. Maybe I'll spend a couple of nights in Warsaw in a hostel, make connections, gather information and then move to a cheaper city. I cannot thank all of you enough for all the help and guidance you are providing.

IMG_20220313_131347.jpg

IMG_20220313_131419.jpg

IMG-20220313-WA0010.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency