SHORT STORY CONTEST

Hey all!

So I entered a short story contest by @stach.

It requires that we write an interesting story on the topic a stitch in time saves nine, using not more than 199 words.

This was an exciting challenge for me because I always write such detailed stories.

Here is my story:


A LATE STITCH IS JUST A PUNCTURE

The results were out! Quickly, I grabbed my phone, dialled Stephanie and informed her.

"Don't forget to tell Dave!" I yelled.


This was my squad. We always did everything together, except the time when Dave who was from a middle-class family got so hooked on crack that he resorted to stealing just to make his "drug ends" meet.

cannabis-1254745_1280.png
Image source: Pixabay

Frequently, Stephanie and I debated on who would talk Dave back to his senses, but it always ended with us shying away.

Eventually, taking advantage of the respect Dave had for me, I decided to give him the talk of his life.

He opened up, sobbing uncontrollably as he told me his dad had gotten arrested and his younger sister abused; neither Steph nor I knew.

He apparently just needed someone to lean on, and he promised me he would change and study for his professional exams.


We arrived the faculty, checked the results; Dave failed and was asked to withdraw.

On our way out, Dave was arrested by the police for a robbery at the VC's office.

He tried to flee and was shot dead.

If only I intervened earlier...

20180223_092425.jpg
Image source: Pixabay


The entry for the contest is a comment on the @stach blog. Read here.

Thanks for your time.
❤❤❤
@the.chiomz

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center