I Found a Name For it

emotions-3113087__480.jpg
Source

Morning comes with a bleakness
Not of sorrow, forlorn or misery
I’ve known these feelings too well
Same way I know and recognise aloneness
No, this bleak is different
It begins in the stomach
A panic that the day will be spent grasping
Reaching for something unknown
But remembering its passed
A warm feeling spreads
Slowly up to the chest
Because now, I have something beautiful
A thing I don’t yet have a name for

Afternoon begins with a cheerfulness
Not just of the sun and the singing birds
Or the branches swaying with the wind
A stomach feeling, you may wonder
Yes, it’s still there
But this time, it’s deeper
Trying to understand makes me dizzy
Trying to give it a name tightens my chest
So I stop and let it be
I allow the warmth envelope me

Night approaches with uncertainty
My heart races because now it makes sense
I recognise the word I’m searching for
Its on the tip of my tongue,
Struggling to break free
Love, yes! Love
I’m immersed in it I can hardly breathe
All my life I’ve wanted this
But now, I’m not too sure
It’s consuming me and I’m not scared
This is one thing I don’t want to lose
Because it’s too good to be true
Because I’m finally in love

You have no idea what you do to me
I wake each morning with a hunger for you
But I smile because you’re right beside me
And it won’t be long before I'm sated
But that’s just before a new hunger begins
One that can’t be quenched
With cries and moans of ecstasy
But rather with an inner peace
One that comes with knowing I have something unique
I love you!
But you know that already

Love they say is a beautiful thing, when you find it anyway. This poem is just me moving a little away from the flowery pictures we often paint love to be.

This is also an entry for @stach's spoken word contest which happens every Tuesday on Stach Radio discord server.

Tell me your thoughts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center