Watching UTMB

I don’t usually spend a bunch of time watching sport. I usually have better things to do that spend the entire day in front of the telly. And apart from the odd All Blacks game when we are beating Australia (again) I don’t even watch the telly any more.

But that does not mean I can’t catch up on my new passion - ultra running.

The Ultra Trail Mount Blanc race is on at the moment, and since it is not on the telly here at the arse end of the world, I have to go the interweb to find out anything about it.

There are a couple of guys running in this race that I follow online, like Sage Canaday. So I’m interested to see how they do in the biggest race of the year.

I found a website called UTMB Live that lets you follow the running in real time around the mountain.

Now that’s really cool!

So it is not something that I am glued to all day, but I can have the map up on one screen and check it periodically to see how Sage is doing and how the other runners are doing. It’s an awesome piece of tech and I love that it is being used for this. It would be incredible if other races (like the small provincial ones) had access to this level of technology. I think it would go a long way towards promoting ultra and adventure running.

At the time of writing this post Sage is doing well. He is just a bit behind the race favourite at the 57km mark. Jim Walmsley, the other runner in with a chance of winning, is just a bit further in front. So at this stage it is still anyone’s race.


Check out my stories here on Steemit

Running Deer

Running Deer - part 1
Running Deer - How legends are born

Charlie Rabbit

Meet Charlie Rabbit
Charlie tides up
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse make music

Little Peppers Adventures

Runaway Rabbit and the hungry fox
Maybe and the land of purple rainbows – A Little Peppers adventure
How Pappa Pepper and Monster Truck the Pepper got their wild hogs - a Little Peppers Adeventure

Dark Angel Regiment of the Space Marines - Mission Files

First Squad Sniper Elite - Zaresith mission

Other stories

Stranded
The Lady Of The Lake


Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now