How Metta World Peace (Ron Artest) and I became friends. (Day3of30) #SteemIt30for30

Over the years, I find myself saying “you get what you give” more and more often. It feels good when people thank you for something (whether that's advice, help, or physical things) that you truly wanted to give them with no expectations of reciprocation. I truly believe that giving in all aspects to help others, kindness, and generosity without expectations makes this world a better place.

I invited Metta to speak @ our tech startup and wanted to give him a "priceless" gift of appreciation. We had also donated to his charity Xcel University (XU works to encourage kids to further their education and also advocates for Mental Health Awareness) for him to come hang out and speak to the company about his journey and the hustle which I'll share in a future video.

MWP has always been one of my favorites, known for his tenacious defense, relentless hustle, and heart of a true champion. I admired that he auctioned off his one and only NBA championship ring with the Lakers to donate towards his charitable causes and to spread mental health awareness. So, I wanted to give him a gift that'd give him some nostalgic feels if he were able to have memorabilia from the Championship. I hunted down an unopened 2009-2010 Lakers Championship Edition Wheaties box from the year that he played a vital role in their championship run and couldn't wait to give it to him.. Metta and I still talk and text til this day, and it's awesome to be working with one of his apps called Gradelo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center