NHL Awards - An Evening Reflecting On a Year of Tragedy

The NHL awards were a very emotional night yesterday and I think for the first and probably only time in my life, I shed a few tears during an awards ceremony. Normally these events are lighthearted and fun events but last night was wrought with emotion remembering three major tragedies that occurred over the past year that had an impact on the hockey world. The Parkland school shooting, the Las Vegas mass shooting and the Humboldt Broncos bus crash all rocked the hockey world. I very much appreciated the NHL taking time to acknowledge these events remembering those we lost and shining a light on the hockey community coming together in the wake of all three events.

The awards took a back seat last night and I feel like the NHL did a very good job handling a difficult topic in a very classy fashion.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center