SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge! [SAND WORM]

top.png

Lets go! This week is all about one of my favorite cards, the Sand Worm.

This was an easy challenge considering I use this card in a bunch of different colors

LINK TO MY BATTLE

SIGN UP FOR SPLINTERLANDS

logo.png

The rules of battle were:
Standard
24 Mana
All Elements

The Summoners:
summoner.png

I chose Malric Inferno as my summoner because of his +1 Melee ability. Combine that with Sand Worms 5 attack and you can 1 shot a lot of monsters. Since I had the +1 Melee ability it would only make sense to load my team up with Melee monsters. My opponent used a card by the name of Kretch Tallevor who is a 3 mana summoner with no added abilitys. He is a dragon summoner though which allows you to take another element along with you. It looks like he chose to go with Earth. I'm not sure if my opponent was even trying, or if he's just new. Because now looking back, he's sort of all over the place with a dragon summoner and no other dragon monsters. I don't know, don't make much sense to me. Maybe that was his daily quest? lol

My line up:

[Living Lava]
lava.png

First in Line is a very solid tank. 3 attack, 2 shield, 6 health with reduced damage from Melee attacks. He can take hits, He can dish hits. Perfect for the role.

[Flame Monkey]
flamemonkey.png

Keeping with the Melee theme I put this little guy behind my tank. His role is just another body to power up my Ant Miner and buy some time for my Sneak units to get some kills in. The +1 Melee ability makes even the smallest monsters a threat. It's more of a glass cannon at that point though with only 2 health. Thankfully for him, this cannon fodder didn't get the chance to see any play.

[Furious Chicken]
chicken.png

More cannon fodder. Just a body to buy my Sneaky monsters some time. A must include if you have an open spot and no more mana to spend.

[Kobold Miner]
kobold.png

My thought behind adding Kobold Miner was to give my Sand Worm a partner in which to reek havoc on the opponents back line, literally sneaking past the tank. I see a lot of back line archers and mages with 2 even 3 damage even in bronze league so being able to take them out quickly is key in a lot of battles. The best part about sneak is the versatility you get being able to slot in Melee monsters and still have them attack, not sit there idle, waiting for their turn. Can't go wrong for 2 mana.

[Sand Worm]
worm.png

I don't think there's much more to say about this monster that I haven't already touched upon. He has a massive attack stat that sneaks behind the opponents tank and devistates the back line. My plan is to throw him either behind my tank or at the end of the line. I only use him as a tank if there's a low mana cap for the fight and he fits the theme I am trying to work with.

[Ant Miners]
ant.png

I chose to throw Ant Miner in the back so he could benefit from the deaths of my opponents back line and as a last resort if it came down to it. He was melee, low mana, and gets beefy the longer he survives. Seemed like a good fit and he finished the match with an impressive amount of health.

Enemys line up:

  • Nectar Queen
  • Furious Chicken
  • Goblin Chariot
  • Mantoid
  • Creeping Ooze

Round 1:
Enemy Mantoid kills my Furious Chicken.
My Kobold Miner attacks with his Sneak ability before my Sand Worm, takes out the Enemys Furious Chicken.
My Sand Worm goes next and takes out the Enemy Goblin Chariot with his Sneak ability.

Round 2:
Kobold Miner and Sand Worm Sneak up on the Enemys Mantoid and kills him.
The round ends with a 6 Health Nectar Queen and a Creeping Ooze against my still standing full team.

Round 3:
**Kobold Miner **Sneaks behind the Nectar Queen and delivers a fatal blow to the Enemys Creeping Ooze.
Sand Worm delivers the final blow to Nectar Queen finishing my opponent and winning the match.

Conclusion:
Sand Worm is a very powerful card boasting a lot of value for a lot of mana. His neutral color makes him suitable for a lot of different play styles at the bronze level that I play in. When I use him, I like to take advantage of that high attack stat and his Sneak ability by pairing him up with one or more other sneak cards. Looking back, this battle was sort of lame. My enemy was a lot less organized then I at first noticed and really didn't even stand a chance against my team. The more I play this game the more I am learning but I am still in bronze league and don't see myself going into silver until the release of the new set and I can buy some more boosters. Once again if you don't have an account you can SIGN UP FOR SPLINTERLANDS with my referral and get a free card.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency