Grum Flameblade Splinterlands art contest

Hello everyone specially to all Splinterlands Enthusiast!

In this post, I want to share with you my drawing for my entry in the Splinterlands Weekly Art Challenge.

The character I chose to create fan art for is Grum Flameblade of the Fire Element.

At first, I thought of imitating Hulk’s body and drawing Grum’s head, but then I remembered that I’m not good at realistic art.

So, I decided to do a Chibi Style Grum instead, so instead of looking scary, he’ll look cute. Hahaha!!!

Creating the Form

The first thing I did was to sketch the form I had in mind, without adding too many details right away.

image.png

After sketching the form, I started adding details to make it look like Grum Flameblade.

image.png

Once I was satisfied with the drawing, I thickened the lines and refined them.

image.png

Next, I colored the inside of the outline with a gradient fill to add shading.

image.png

After coloring all parts of Grum Flameblade, I added highlights to the gradient colors. I just used a solid pen, and after adding the highlights, I changed the layer to darken.

image.png

Now, onto the background. Since I wanted it to be cute, I added colorful hills behind him and some cute clouds.

image.png

For the far background, I used a 2-color gradient fill.

This is my final artwork, and I hope you liked it.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now