Splinterlands Battle Mage Secrets: Counterspell by @nozem01


counterspell.jpg

Hi everyone! This weeks battle mage secrets task is to make a post about the counterspell ruleset, in which all monsters receive the Magic Reflect ability at the start of the battle. Enemy monsters that attack with magic receive damage back.

So basically this ruleset is telling you: Don't use magic monsters unless it has void. A good example of a monster I use in magic reflect battles is Djinn Oshannus, it has 2 magic damage, good speed and health and the reflected magic doesn't harm him because he has the void ability.




A good strategy can be to surprise your enemy by using magic when he won't expect it. Immortalis, the legendary Chaos Legion earth summoner gives every monster in your team the void ability, so as long as your monsters damage output is no more than 2, they don't get any reflect damage.

On top of that, Immortalis also gives the shatter ability, one of my favourite abilities in the game and -1 health point to the enemy team's monsters.

While it's a very good summoner, and I struggle to defeat him when my opponents play him, I still need to get used to using him effectively in my battles.

I wrote the first part of this article a day before publishing, but I needed to have a nice battle to talk about. I've dealt with this issue before so I saved a text file with good battles and the rulesets, but I didn't saved a counterspell battle in my list 😏
So... I was forced to wait until I could claim my chests and let my energy recharge, I played all the way back to 18 on both accounts to get 1 counterspell battle!!
I did got 2 in my tournament also, but my opponent didn't submit his team, I'll take a look in a moment, maybe I can talk about them too.

So, the battle was on my alt account, facing a lvl 1 bot account. And like I told before I like to surprise my enemy by using magic anyway, so I went water with Oshannus as my tank. I like the speed of the water team, you strike first and you might even dodge some attacks.

My team's lineup:


image.png

you can watch the battle unfold for yourself here.

Tank position: Djinn Oshannus, reason: speed, void, magic attack when the enemy doesn't expect it.
2nd position: Tide Biter, reason: only 3 mana, good speed and damage.
3rd position: Deeplurker, reason: to kill off glass cannons (like the enemy arbalest) or healers.
4th position: Axe Master, reason: good speed, good archery damage, doublestrike!
5th position: Venari Marksrat, reason: it's martyr ability, with this ruleset there's a good chance my opponent is going to play sneak, and he did, making Axe Master even more deadly.

The Battle:
By round 2, my team had killed both the enemy tank with shield (magic was really helpful!) and killed the enemy arbalest, the main damage dealer in the team. Also the enemy stitch leech killed my marksrat, boosting Axe Master, doing 6 archery damage every turn, this was a really easy win, and the battle was already over at the end of round 4.




My tournament opponents are still sleeping maybe, both counterspell rulesets haven't been played yet... so far, I'm good 😃


image.png

Well then I guess that's it for this weeks Battle Mage Secrets, on to the social media challenge post!


splinterlands banner.png
Thank you for reading!!!

If you haven't made an account already, please consider using my referral link to sign up, I'll happily send the amount I get for your signup back to you in DEC or SPS to help you start.

Have a great day!

splinterlands banner1.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center