Significant bug, error, or glitch on Splinterlands' Leaderboard

The current season is ending shortly, so watch closely the leaderboard in the league you are playing, and when the new season starts, the Last Season leaderboard especially.

splinterlands_watch_out_2.png

Source: Edited screenshot from Splinterlands

I have noticed this bug, error, glitch, or whatever it is by pure accident.
The thing is that last season (active during the second half of August), I was playing most of the time in the Bronze league, but before the end of the season, I decided to move forward into the Silver league.

Although having enough own Power even for the Gold III league, I decided to stay in the Silver league. That way, with the achieved number of 2901 Rating points, I would be able to compete for one of the first ten places in the Silver league.

end_of_the_season_rating_2901.png

Unfortunately, for some (to me still) unknown reason, 1002 points have been deducted from my Rating, and I unexpectedly ended the season with 1899 Rating points what put me in 1409th place instead among the first ten players in the same Silver league.

In other words, it wasn't a case of dropping down from one league to another because of eventual lack of Power (what was the unfortunate case with many other players), as I had enough of my own Power even for the higher league as I already said. And all of it even more, because I didn't rent or lend any of my own cards out by then.

1002_rating_points_removed_deducted_at_the_end_of_the_season.png

So, how and why this 1002 Ranking points removal actually happened it's an entirely different story which I'm now trying to clarify and solve through the correspondence with Splinterlands' Support Team.

But this incident provoked me to start paying closer attention to the leaderboards, which brings me to this article's main topic.


Bug, error, or glitch on Splinterlands' Leaderboard

With the beginning of the new season (still, shortly active one, that lasts during the first half of September), I decided to skip this new season and not to play it. With that, I thought, I would enable Splinterlands' Support Team an easier and clearer view of my battles' history and the issue I've reported in my ticket.

Being out of the battlefield with some spare time available, I noticed how the data for the Last Season Leaderboard suddenly changed and how they are not the same as the one I screenshotted to attach to the ticket sent to Splinterlands Support Team.

Let me show you what I'm talking about!

Last Season Silver League Leaderboard, screenshot from August 31, 2021.

1899_instead_of_2901_at_the_end_of_the_season_2021_08_31.png


Last Season Silver League Leaderboard, screenshot from September 9, 2021.

1899_instead_of_2901_at_the_end_of_the_season_2021_09_09.png


Last Season Silver League Leaderboard, screenshot from September 14, 2021.

1899_instead_of_2901_at_the_end_of_the_season_2021_09_14_2.35_am.png


Last Season Silver League Leaderboard, screenshot from today on September 15, 2021.

1899_instead_of_2901_at_the_end_of_the_season_2021_09_15.png


At first glance, maybe you still wouldn't see the problem, so I created the following table that compares the data from all the above screenshots.

2nd_half_of_august_season_silver_league.png

Now you can see how at one moment, Last Season Silver League Leaderboard data were showing that first place took the player @smukkers with 3073 Ranking points. In contrast, the same player showed up in 4th place several days later with 2606 Ranking points. A couple of days further, the player was again in the first position but this time with 2972 Ranking points, to end up with today's data (if they are still there and the same) which are the same ones as the one from the first screenshot from August 31, 2021.

All in all, there are 14 players (@smukkers, @johnmelissaski, @backflip55, @dragon.rider, @blackzoda, @j-p-bs, @nexneveau, @sevenoh-fiveoh, @raketenklaus, @kira1995, @baupade, @senojuro, @mious, and @cornavirus) who are appearing, disappearing, and/or changing positions on that Last Season Silver League Leaderboard.

Impossible!

Furthermore, and what worries me the most is the following.

If this is happening (and as I just showed you, it apparently does) for the past season (data), which is finished and closed, so there shouldn't be any changes, how much more likely something like that is happening on the active season leaderboards where the data is changing almost every second???

As I said at the beginning, I really don't know what and why is causing this issue, bug, error, or glitch, but it's certainly something that needs severe close attention as it might affect every single player, including even the game creators, developers and the rest of the Splinterlands' leading team who are playing the game too.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency