Spirit walker

This is one of my spirit world ones in which I go in search of my love who has become lost spirit walking...

fantasy-2287844_1280.jpg

I had a knack for seeing which way things would fall and, after I’d made quite a few people rich I was offered a position higher up, and that’s when I stepped into the shady world of big money.

It is said that you become like the ones you spend the most time with and this was the case with me.

At first I tried to hang on to my personal vibration, what I considered to be the best part of me, where the magic comes from, but after what seemed like a long time immersed in greed and corruption I could feel a darkness growing in me and I knew I had to get out or I’d have a stain on my soul I’d carry into the next life.

I was using my gift to make greedy people richer, and the money I’d accumulated felt tainted somehow. So I began to make deliberate mistakes and before long I was out.

And then began my recovery: I took up meditation and found a healer who gave me great comfort, and although we didn’t go in for marriage we were tied nonetheless by our love and shared interests.

She was a spirit walker and would go there to find the lost ones and guide them back; she was good at it and taught me how and we would journey there together. We became known for this and people found their way to us for help to find their lost ones.

And then one day she didn’t come back. She’d been given a commission to find a child that had somehow wandered into the spirit world and had become trapped there.

The first couple of days, she’d come back without any sign, and then on the third day she said she had word a child had been seen and so she’d set off in pursuit.

I had other business to attend to so I stayed behind to sort it out while she went to find the child.

When she didn’t return I wasn’t too worried at first, she’d been late before but she always came back; but not this time.

When I knew for sure, I set off to find her and ended up in the desert of despair where no one in their right mind should ever go, but I had to, I wasn’t going to let her down just because of a little fear.

There was no gate keeper but there should have been, someone to keep wanderers out and save big trouble for those who had to come and get them back, if there was anything left to bring back that is; in the desert people fade fast or die quick in one of the spirit traps.

I knew I had to get in and out as quick as I could, every moment I spent in the desert was another moment being eaten until I would have no energy left to get out and I’d be trapped until I faded away completely.

Wispy apparitions beseeched me for help as I made my way, but there was nothing I could do for them, they were beyond help, far too withered to bring back.

Things are different in the spirit world and most especially in the desert. You can travel all day and find you’ve not gone a hundred yards and the next day you can set out and arrive at the horizon by mid day. Sometimes time races and sometimes it goes too slow, but you just keep going and hope to arrive with enough of you left to make a difference.

When I came upon the empty rooms with no doors I felt relief, I’d made it, but I still had to find the right one with my woman inside and get her out and then travel back over the desert.

I felt daunted by all I had to do; maybe it was too much for me. I felt to lay down on the sand and curl up, let it go, rest and go to sleep; I could always start again tomorrow; yes, there’s always tomorrow; I can sleep now, right here at the edge of all these empty rooms.

What woke me up I don’t know, but as I woke I heard the faint trace of a familiar voice calling me.

I’d arrived, and now I had to find out where she was in this place where things appear and disappear as if all the realities are mixed up.

I was getting closer, but who knows how close I really was; in the spirit world time and distance are not the same as it is in the normal world; you could go around in circles as easy as go in a straight line; or see someone in your face who is far away, and then for no reason at all everything would be as if normal.

Sometimes things got really strange, like when a huge moth flew at my face and then disappeared, which for me is a sign to turn to another path, quick, so when I did I found myself falling into a sand-pit. Down I slithered to the bottom and found myself in a tunnel that was lit with crystals, each crystal passing the light on to the next as I followed them and marking the way in chalk as I went.

I came to a branch in the tunnel and took the one that was lighted, and following the lights I came to four branches and again followed the lighted one.

The next branch had eight tunnels going off that made a complete circle around me, but they were all dark.

I sat in the middle of the tunnels to meditate and as I became quiet I heard her calling me. She was close but weak. I reached out to her and felt her; she knew I was near now but we couldn’t get any closer than the tentative touch of our senses, the door-less walls of the empty room were forbidding her from leaving and although I could go to her I knew we would both be trapped then and we would die there with the room absorbing our spirits until we became empty.

There had to be a way of getting her out but I couldn’t see how.

One of the tunnels lighted up so I decided to see where it led; so far the lights had not let me down so it felt safe to follow them.

The tunnel took me to a chamber where there was a table and on it sat a box with the lid open and a red stone in it that was pulsating.

As I drew near to it I felt a compulsion to pick it up and hold it and admire its beauty and as I reached out to grasp it I remembered the place of greed and power I’d left behind and wanted nothing more to do with.

I withdrew my hand; there was something wrong here; something had been playing me all along and leading me to this stone and all I had to do was pick it up and all my dreams would come true; it felt that way; but all my dreams had already come true and she was close by and no stone could ever make things better than when I was with her.

No, I was not going to pick it up or even look at it. I threw a cloth over it from my bag and immediately the lights went out and it became dark.

Not all darknesses that are deep are unfriendly but this one I could feel wanted only fear and terror, but I’d never been afraid of the dark and so was not too concerned; but how would I find a way around and out without the lights.

I thought about it for a while and then decided to lift the lid of the box and uncover the stone. As soon as I lifted the lid all the lights came on and blazed bright, and there was Alicia, the one I’d come for leading a child by the hand and some others close behind her. I rushed to her and she collapsed in my arms.

We had to get out of here while we still could, but not without a rest first. I laid her down with her back against the wall.

It was the stone that had some kind of power over the place and was causing all the trouble and draining our energy, but if I closed the lid on it the light would go, but at least we’d recover a bit of our energy.

I took in the distance to Alicia and then closed the lid and walked over to her through the dark and sat down next to her; I’d gauged it just right and as I put my arm around her I could feel her stirring and coming back to consciousness.

“Get us out of here,” she said and began to climb to her feet, her energy returning.

“We have to go back to where all the tunnels join,” I said, getting to my feet as well.

“Can you find the way out?” she asked, her voice sounding shaky in the darkness.

“I’ve marked the tunnels to follow with chalk, but we need light to see the marks,” I said and had an idea. I walked over to the table and felt for the box.

“What are you doing?” said Alicia.

“I’m taking the box so that when we need light it can be opened just long enough to see the chalk marks,” I said and put the box in my bag and felt my way down the tunnels to lead us all to safety....

Image from Pixabay

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now