My Solar Powered Bitcoin Mining Setup

OK so since powering bitcoin miners currently costs more than the return (at least in the UK), i have invested some of my lovely Bitcoins into solar panels and batteries...

Here we have approx 440x 18650 lithium battery cells, which were recovered from scrap laptop battery packs. I configured them into 7 series 21 - 29.4 volt packs x3, which equates to a roundabout 3KWH of usable battery storage. I used 8mm solar bus bar and 3 amp fuse wire on every cell to create the packs...

SDC12625.JPG

Here we have my solar chargers, each charger (green ones) has 1x 250 watt solar panel connected to it...

SDC12626.JPG

This all then connects to a modified UPS which acts as my terribly inefficient 24 volt inverter, which then powers an Antminer S3...

Eventually I want to power my entire house with solar power, but this will only come with time, for now though I'm loving the fact I can mine for a few hours per day (6-8 hours on a sunny day) entirely for free....

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center