Working as a Carer

IS RELIEF CARE WORK WORTH IT?

Being a relief Social Care Assistant I can, with hand on my heart, honestly say "YES."

However, there is more to it than my simple answer, hence the reason for my post today. A discussion seems to have made it to my local press and a lot of debate over social media; to sum up this discussion I would call it "Does my employer need to bring in agency staff, when there are enough local workers and what the job entails?" The Facebook post can be seen here near to the top of the page:

A local care worker has waived her anonymity in order to voice concerns about agency staff being taken into Orkney to...

Posted by BBC Radio Orkney onΒ Friday, 30 October 2020

After reading everyone's comments and other posts I was surprised at some people's perspectives on what is entailed in providing a full care team to people who need that little extra help.

MY OWN WORKING DAY

My work is at present at one service (was until recently with two employers) this is to take care, along with a team of other Social Care Assistants for up to thirteen individuals in any given day. The service covers twenty four hours, seven days and 365 days a week, can you imagine leaving people without a cup of tea for a day!πŸ˜€

This leads me to the tasks and pros of my job which vary by the hour not just by the day.

Morning routine: handover from night staff to morning staff, visit various houses to assist getting up, washed, dressed, medication, dealing with emergencies as and when, ensuring they have all they need for the morning. This could be two, four or more houses depending on staff levels and also depends on the needs of the individual. Some people require more help than others, some people maybe awake in a good mood some people may be grumpy and uncooperative as anything, you never know exactly what you are walking into but no matter what the situation it is my responsibility to deal with it.

Along with this there is also the paper work, walking in on someone who is sick, soiled, smiling or about to throw a vase your way (yes with the aim of a professional dart player) or may even walk in and the person be dying or already dead but no matter what happens a smile, doing the job to the best of my ability, making professional decisions and getting the job done to give the individuals the best care I can give even if it is 'End of Life Care' is what makes my job one of the best.

Afternoon routine: make sure all individuals on my rota have lunch, drinks, medication, help with toileting when needed, are clean and settled for whatever they have going on in the afternoon. Oh forgot to add in the morning, washing and housework but this is carried on through the afternoon too. Drying washing that's been done in the morning, clearing and washing any cups/dishes/other items the individual has used and general household tasks they are unable to carry out themselves while also carrying out a risk assessment on their home at each visit.

Evening routine: a little like the morning but in reverse, tea time meals, snacks or whatever the individual is having, clearing away any items that have been used earlier, medication and more paperwork.

Night time routine: suppers, assistance to prepare for bed, medication, drinks, washing etc. etc.

Even though I have listed basic tasks above, there are also other tasks to do throughout the day and night such as: lend a listening ear, creams/lotions (no potions πŸ˜ƒ), standard hygiene tasks alongside, pads changed, urine bags/bottles, stomas, epilepsy, seizures, heart attacks and strokes the list goes on.

HoldingHands.png

WORKING HOURS AND BREAKS

My working hours vary from five and a quarter to twelve, longest day I had was thirty seven, I must say however this was with my previous employer and did involve sleep in of six hours but even in my book it was 'a long day'.

A typical shift has one fifteen minute break but you are not paid for time on breaks but you are also not guaranteed one, of course no one minds missing that quick coffee in cases of emergency it is what we are there for. On the other hand you may have a quiet day (cough, cough) and end up with two cups of coffee.

NOW THE PROS OF RELIEF HOURS

The pros of being doing all this as a relief worker rather than on contracted hours are that;

  • I can take or refuse any shift offered to me, this is handy if I want a couple of days off to rest whereas if I was on contract for certain days/nights I would have to work these.
  • The pay can be less if you do not take enough shifts to cover your basic needs then that would be on me not the employer.

WHAT THEN DO I LIKE LEAST ABOUT MY JOB

  • Doing the best I can to the best of your ability but still not enough for some.
  • Getting to know an individual and realising there is nothing you can do to help them with things like rid them of pain, disease or other form of challenges they have.
  • Knowing at any time they could no longer be here.
  • Trying to help them keep their dignity while having to carry out personal care
  • The disappointment on their face when they have an accident.
  • The cries when someone is lonely, upset or in extreme pain.
  • Dealing with family members who do not understand what is happening to their loved one and they try to blame you for it.
  • Trying to navigate the care system when needing extra help, such as people needing social workers or help with their money etc.

THE DOWNSIDE TO BEING RELIEF COMPARED TO CONTRACT

  • I am not guaranteed any shifts so could end up with a low wage or even none.
  • I do not get paid for any time off due to sickness this includes everything from Covid-19 to cancer.
  • Some jobs I can not do due to Contract Staff only have the responsibility for them.
  • I do receive holiday pay but it is at a different scale from contract staff and works out less hours I'd be entitled too through the year.

AGENCY WORKERS

Problems people have with Agency Workers seem to be varied after reading the main article but I have never had a problem working with any agency staff. Yes they are paid nearly double my wage, they get accommodation and subsidised food and travel expenses. They are however, travelling away from home for weeks at a time, missing their family, leaving their loved ones at home and have to deal in some instances with individuals they have never met before and a team of workers they have not worked with before.

For any organisation to call in agency workers clearly means they have not sourced local staff or are having problems with sickness or staff morale (people not wanting to come into work). In the article some people have commented that local staff should be asked first, my first thoughts are have they made their employer aware of their availability and left contact numbers where they can be called in at short notice? There could be many a reason but seems to be a lack of communication somewhere along the lines (just personal opinion).

RECOMMENDATIONS

EMPLOYEES:

If you would like to work in care and carry out a worthwhile job speak to the individuals you know who already work in care. Do research on the employer you are thinking of applying to (good and bad employers exist in any environment) find out if the job suits you not everyone can deal with personal care, snotty noses and bodily fluids. Speak to your next inline or manager, tell them you are available for those shifts, offer to do any extra shifts you become aware off instead of waiting to be asked.

EMPLOYERS:

Look at what staff you already have, consider job rotation, send out availability forms, do job appraisals, have HR team audit the staff resources you already have and ask them to utilise those resources to make them beneficial to the services all round. Keep employees you have up to date, a little email saying 'We may have to consider agency if..." would be helpful.

CONCLUSION

I love my job, I am happy on relief work as long as I can get enough shifts to cover my rent, food and general living costs. Even though I am on relief if is permanent so not like a temporary job I could lose at any minute.

Quote from an agency staff team member I have worked with previously "I am more than happy to cover shifts but I know what care work is like and I would rather that the contracted and relief staff receive their shifts first, then I would like be asked to cover after that. I am not here to take anyone's hours but here to help with there is no one else."

The job involves everything from being a mother to being a doctor, being a tea maker to saving someone's life but if you are prepared for anything you should try it out for at least six months and if it doesn't work you will have learned a lot about the system, people and what care assistants really do.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center