Social Media Sharing Rewarded?

After looking around a bit, I figured I'd just come right out and ask -- are social media shares from Steemit rewarded?

For example...

If a Steemit user shares a steemit post on Facebook, do they receive curation or reputation rewards? 

Forgive me if this is a basic question that's been discussed before, I'm still pretty new here. But I've read several posts lately that seem to address the question of how to increase Steemit's active userbase. 

To be honest, I'd never heard of Steemit until I began researching blockchain for a work project. And as a fairly active social media user, I'm pretty sure I would have noticed content being shared from a place called Steemit -- had any of my friends/connections/followers done so.

It seems to me that if users here were somehow incentivized to frequently share content from Steemit (which, again -- maybe they are), the K factor would kick in almost immediately.

It's entirely possible that I'm missing something here -- and if so, please disregard :) 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center