I caught one!!! A Yellow Bellied Water Snake.

thumbnail_20180827_183034_resized.jpg


Or a Plain Bellied Water Snake. Depends on who you talk to.

This snake is NON VENOMOUS!!!

Last minute today around sunset I had a hunch. A hunch that said down by the pond I would find a snake. Sure enough I was right! Down by the pond we have a dinghy. Under the dinghy there he was, a nice sized water snake. I'm guessing he was about two and a half to three foot long or so.

The Ozarks are the home for about seven or eight different species of harmless NON VENOMOUS water snakes. The Yellow Bellied Water Snakes have a plain solid yellow belly. Their backs are a solid brown to a dark brown without any markings. No diamonds, stripes, bands, or other colors, just a solid brown back.

Even though this snake was a mean one, he calmed down rather quickly after handling him a few minutes. He only managed to bite me a few times. On my wrist, hand, and finger. Believe me it didn't hurt. I get bit by these damn things all the time. It only looks like it hurt.


Now for some selfies!

thumbnail_20180827_182844_resized.jpg
yellow belly

thumbnail_20180827_182915_resized (1).jpg

thumbnail_20180827_182838_resized (1).jpg


You can check out this nice sized Northern Water snake I caught a few months ago here:
https://steemit.com/animals/@hippie-witha-gun/caught-my-first-water-snake-this-year

Thanks for looking!


As always I'm Theo aka Rainbow Man and here is the PROOF!!!
thumbnail_20180827_183041_resized.jpg
Proof of redundancy... I mean water snake LOL.

Stay Un-Tune-Ed


Join the TRUTH Party, The Radical Underground Tyrant Haters Party!!!
Comedy through activism, activism through comedy.

Welcome to the NEW West!!!
Rainbow Man meme6.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now