Sleep Paralysis

I decided to add a cute picture as the banner to balance this post up a bit as the content may not be as cute.

Two nights ago I had my first sleep paralysis in a long time, it was kinda weird but not as scary or insane as some others who may have experienced it before. If you're not aware of what it is, it can shortly be described as not being able to move or speak just before you are about to fall asleep or wake up, the only thing you can do really is move your eyes.

I was about to fall asleep when I suddenly hear this button clicking right behind me. I was sleeping on my stomach turned to the left side and I had my laptop on the night table behind me, as soon as I heard the noise I opened my eyes. There was no light being emitted from the laptop so clearly this was not my roommate being snoopy and trying to access my laptop but I could clearly hear the sounds of the touch pad of the laptop. It was so surreal, I wanted to turn around and check what the hell was happening but I couldn't move, that's when I realized what was going on.

I've experienced sleep paralysis a few times in the past and some of those times have been pretty rough, especially as a kid when you're not really sure what the fuck is going on since there is hallucination involved. It usually doesn't last long and due to my experience with it before I didn't care about it as much this time since I knew it would be over soon. I was still interested to see if my mind would try and play more tricks on me so I kept looking around without being able to move my head to see if there were any other hallucinations than the touch pad sound. There was nothing, kinda boring I thought. Maybe my mind knows that if something more were to happen I'd be able to know for sure that it's just another sleep paralysis so it was trying to be as subtle as possible to freak me out, haha. That's what I was actually thinking of while this was going on. It was kinda boring I couldn't turn around to see, in my mind I was expecting to turn around and see myself sit on the edge of the bed using the laptop as I do most of the day - now that would've been freaky!

After a few minutes it was over and the noise stopped, a little annoyed I fell asleep and that was the end of that.

I've heard people have some crazy hallucinations during their sleep paralysis' though, is it weird that I'd think that would be kinda fun? I used to sport lucid dreaming back in the day when I used to take a nap for a couple hours after school as I found out that was the easiest time to go lucid. It could be that because of that and realizing when I was dreaming is what makes me realize when I'm hallucinating due to sleep paralysis, not that it happens that often.

Anyone else experienced any crazy hallucinations or sleep paralysis? What's your story?


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center