SLAM in Japan

Woah. This photo popped up in my Facebook memories today:

hu.jpg

This was taken after my final presentation at Hokkaido Univeristy in Sapporo, Japan.

I spent two months there for a research internship on Mechatronics.

Quite interesting since I did my internship during the dead of winter. The heaviest snowfall Sapporo has experienced in the last ten years at that time! I absolutely hated it the first month. I'm from a tropical weather country. I love my beaches and coconut trees. But I got around to adjusting to the weather on my second month and it wasn't so bad after all.

Anyway, my research wasn't as intensive because it was more of a cultural experience. But I got the chance to hangout with the Masters and Doctorate students at the lab. The undergrads had a hectic schedule because their final thesis was due that time and I didn't want to bother them. But I had a lot of fun just learning about what their research was about.

While being annoying to Sarun and Yoshiki, I found out about Simultaneous Localization and Mapping. It was the hot topic there at the time. Almost everyone was doing a variation of it in their papers.

Quickly went to youtube and found this video:

I think I just found my first RaspberryPi project for this year. I've had a Pi 3 B+ lying around for some time now and I haven't gotten around to doing anything with it. Well, it's worth a try. It doesn't say anything on the video description on what parts she used to complete the project so I think I need to figure that out for myself.

This one's pretty ambitious so I'm not giving it a short timeline. At least I can move my knowledge further about SLAM.

Have you done any projects with SLAM or RaspberryPi? I'd love to hear about it in the comments!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now