SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange drawings I do. The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.

Mushroom Trees


This drawing was influenced by a picture of trees. The basic structures of them are there, like the canopy, trunks and branching. But then I took it in its own direction pretty quickly, extrapolating additional shapes that were then tied into the composition.

mushroom-trees.jpeg

Although I liked exploring the patterned areas, it seemed to want tonal areas in it, which can be hard to do with a black and white pen. I felt it would be good to see what it can be if I could use color and other patterning in it. Sometimes all the lines can feel too repetitive and complicate viewing.

mushroom strip.png

Becoming a vector image


This shows how I drew the vector art and created the patterns that appear in things. Illustrator has a great tool that allows you to mask one thing into another. So all the lines that break out of the shapes are actually masked into the main shapes in the colored version. It can look like a mess in the keyline view.

Although the original ink drawing can stand on its own, I like what can be done when I re-create it in my vector program and add color values. It is not meant to be a faithful rendering of the original, but becomes its own image. So variations and interpretations of shapes is just part of developing it out.

mushroomtrees.jpg

All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

footer2.jpg

surreal, lurid, unzipped

Steemians, thanks for checking out this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center