SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange drawings I do. The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.

An Imaginary Treehouse

This drawing was based on memory and imagination. I added the leaves and patterning to make it feel connected to the trees it is built on.

treehouse.jpg
© @mrsomebody

This treehouse is built on many smaller tree trunks, but in reality my brothers and I actually did build a 3-story treehouse in a single dead pear tree as kids. It took up every inch of the tree with just the trunk showing. It must have been a terrible eyesore, all created from discarded boards and scraps of tin and cardboard. Fortunately we lived in a rural small town, and it was out back near the pasture.

stilthouse.png

The idea was also inspired by the Cambodian countryside stilt houses, which I really love for some reason – probably because they are like treehouses for adults! See my sketches of them here.

footer2.jpg

surreal, lurid, unzipped

Thanks for checking out this SketchCrazed post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center