SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange drawings I do. The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.

Tokyo Tower

tokyo tower.jpg

This was a very heavy black and white ink drawing of imagery from Tokyo. After trying a few more realistic drawings of buildings, I didn’t like my approach and thought I needed to change things up, using the elements in a different arrangement (see the drawing below).

japan_Tokyo-line.jpg

So I created a vector drawing using it as a template. This was fun to develop. I got very playful interpreting the details, and had fun applying this limited color palette to it. If you compare them carefully you will see how color and line weight make such a difference. These vector approaches give me so much flexibility to get the feeling I want.

tokyo-tower-vector.png

All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

It has an entirely different feeling from where I started. I believe it is one of my more successful vector-interpreted images.

footer2.jpg

surreal, lurid, unzipped

Steemians, thanks for checking out this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center