SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange drawings I do, cloaked in this transparent attempt to give them a sense of purpose and intentionality. But you’re probably not fooled! The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.

Code dependence, set theory, infinite sequences, and diagonal arguments. What?


sketchbook-code.JPG

This is my original drawing.

Convinced there is embedded information in everything around me, I attempt to encapsulate it in drawings like this one. Although for me it is just assembling elements that seem visually interesting, who is to say it doesn’t become some meaningful visual landscape? If you see a relationship of shapes here or there that remind you of something, then I’m happy. Maybe there are unconscious triggers in these images that will be clear to some and lost on others. There is no mathematical certainty here, but I hope we will avoid any diagonal arguments!

code-dependent-flatcolor.jpg
© @mrsomebody

strip.jpg

I scanned this image, and added simple areas of color to give some relief from the starkness of a black and white image.

footer2.jpg

surreal, lurid, unzipped

Thanks for checking out this SketchCrazed post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center