SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange drawings I do. The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.

Hotel Surrealist

You can check in, but you may have already checked out


hotel surrealist.jpg© @mrsomebody

The original idea for this came from a photo of a crazy building that looked like it had been melted. It had to be a hand-made structure by an untrained craftsman. The upper right part of my drawing does resemble the photo's rooftops a little. This whole composition seemed like it was fluid and moving, so I thought it might be a surrealist hotel, where time dilates and retraces itself. You never know when and where you are.

surrealhouse.jpg

I wasn't able to post the photo that inspired this drawing because I can't find the source on the web. Instead I've posted this photo that has no relation to it. But it is a quirky construction. Photo source

surreal, lurid, unzipped

Thanks for checking out this SketchCrazed post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center