SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange drawings I do. The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.

Bull Liar Talk Stink

bull liar.jpg

All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

At first glance this looks like it could be a study in human anatomy gone terribly wrong, or a life drawing class on mushrooms. But let me assure you, this is the human form intentionally derailed into a study of shape AND the search for unconscious material to give it meaning. Baloney? You’ve got me cornered here. But I did have fun with it! The title is a free association of found words. There is no need to overthink these things, right?

bull sketchbook.png
I have to confess that I LOVED figure drawing classes in art school. I learned that taking the shapes presented and doing something else with them often resulted in curious, odd, and interesting alternatives. Once you draw enough overlapping shapes, all that is left to be done is to play up the intersections and add a few outside elements to arrive at… well, whatever you want to call it – insights, imaginative complexities, or just weird for the sake of weird. You get to decide.

footer2.jpg

surreal, lurid, unzipped

Steemians, thanks for checking out this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center